Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Search the Five College Library Catalog
Basic | Advanced
- Search for publications cited in bibliographies and notes
- Follow linked subject terms to find more books on a topic
- Use links for FC (Five College access), SC, and HathiTrust for thousands of Smith College print books
Video: accessing HathiTrust e-books from the Smith Libraries catalog
Discover: Start here for books, articles & more.
- Use "Login for full access" for links to Smith collections
Discover Advanced Search includes limiting options such as peer reviewed journals, language, and full text online.
Specific Research Databases
These links give you off-campus access to Smith's online books and articles.
Use LIMITS by language, date, peer-reviewed sources, full text and more.
HAPI : Hispanic American Periodicals Index 1970+ This link opens in a new window
Citations to articles and other materials from 400+ journals, on Central & South America, Mexico, the Caribbean, U.S.-Mexico border & U.S. Hispanics.
Handbook of Latin American Studies 1935+ This link opens in a new window
Major database for resources on Latin America, from the Libgary of Congress, including essays and sources in social sciences and humanities
Google Scholar This link opens in a new windowLinks to scholarly books, articles and more. Results are incomplete and vary greatly by subject. Always use the libraries' research databases for a complete search of scholarly topics.
Education Abstracts [EBSCO] 1982+. Abstracts from 1994 This link opens in a new windowIndexing and abstracts for more than 1,000 periodicals and yearbooks, with indexing dating back to 1982 and abstracts back to 1994. Books on education, published after 1995, are also indexed.
JSTOR This link opens in a new windowComplete full text backfiles (excluding latest 2-5 years) for more than 1,000 scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, sciences, and social sciences. Now includes current coverage for several hundred journal titles, plus 30,000 eBooks.
Sociology Source Ultimate [EBSCO] This link opens in a new windowFull-text articles relating to social behavior & interaction, covering gender identity, marriage & family, demographics, political sociology, religion, socio-cultural anthropology, etc.
Get help from Sika Berger