Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Welcoming International Students to Smith College Libraries: Using Databases and Finding Articles

This is an introduction to library services for international students at Smith College.

Using Databases

Smith College Libraries subscribe to a large number of databases so that faculty and students can do the research they need to conveniently. We have a system that is set up so that you do not need a user/name and password. When you are on campus, the databases vendor knows that you belong to Smith College because of the IP address. When you are off-campus, you should connect to the database you want through the Databases by Title Page (or through any library link) so that you can go through authentification (also called a proxy server).

Your identification is your Smith user name and password. 

Databases - You need to use an "index" to find articles published in journals and edited books. Many of these indexes are now online. We usually use the term "database" to describe them. use different databases to find articles on topics you want to read. The list of databases is very long, so you can either use the subject guide for your topic, a library research guide created by your librarian, or this guide to help you decide which one to choose.

  • Full-text databases include a search function and all the articles published in the journal.
  • Some databases only provide the citation (author, title of article, volume, year, and pages) and an abstract. If you want to read the article, you will need to use the Journal Locator or catalog to find it.

Journal Locator - the Journal Locator is an index that includes both print and online journals. It will tell you (a) if Smith owns it or not, (b) if we have it available in print (so you can go to the stacks and get it) or online, and (c) a link so you can request a copy through interlibrary loan.

Discover - is a new tool that you can use to "discover" what types of materials are available to you. This search engine includes books, articles, theses, images, and all kinds of other good stuff. If you want to cast your net broadly, use Discover. 

Subject Guide

Sharon Domier's picture
Sharon Domier