East Asian Language-Chinese
What Should EALL Chinese Majors Know?
By the time of their graduation all EAL Chinese majors should understand how to use Chinese language tools to read and express themselves in Chinese and how literary scholars conduct research in English and how they then communicate the results of their work to colleagues. One way of describing this process is “information literacy” – i.e. the ability to conceptualize what literary information is needed combined with the skills necessary to locate, evaluate, and effectively and ethically use this information.
Students who have taken writing intensive classes should already have learned the following:
Students enrolled in 100-level Chinese language courses should be able to:
Students enrolled in 200-level Chinese language courses should be able to:
Students enrolled in 300-level Chinese language courses should be able to:
Junior Year Abroad
Prior to their departure for Junior Year Abroad students should attend a workshop in which they will learn about conducting research in Chinese libraries. Students who have completed the workshop should be able to:
Chinese Literature and Culture
Chinese majors and other students enrolled in EAL 231, 232, 237, 260 or 261 should be able to:
|Reference Sources||Neilson Call Number|
|Cambridge Encyclopedia of China||ref DS 705 .C35 1991|
|Cambridge History of China||DS 735 .C3145|
|China Today: An Encyclopedia of Life in the People’s Republic||ref DS 777.6 .C49 2005|
|Cultural Atlas of China||ref DS 721 .B56 1998|
|Encyclopedia of Contemporary Chinese Culture||ref DS 779.23 .E5 2005|
|Encyclopedia of Modern Asia||ref DS4 .L48 2002|
Students taking EAL 237 should be able to locate translations of Chinese poetry through the use of anthologies, appropriate web sites, and Columbia Granger’s World of Poetry. They should also be able to locate biographical information on Chinese poets & artists using a variety of reference tools such as Indiana Companion to Traditional Chinese Literature (ref PL 2264 .I53 1986), Historical Dictionary of Modern Chinese Literature (ref PL 2303 .Y59 2010), and Oxford Art Online.
Chinese majors and other students enrolled in EAL 360 should be able to:
|Reference Sources||Call Number/Access|
|Columbia Companion to Modern East Asian Literature||ref PL 493 .C55 2003 or
|Dictionary of Literary Biography||online access|
|Literature of China in the Twentieth Century||ref PL 2303 .M43 1997|
|MCLC Resource Center (Ohio State University)||online access|
|Bibliography of Asian Studies (1971+)||online access|
|JSTOR (back issues excluding most recent 2-5 years)||online access|
|MLA International Bibliography (1926+)||online access|
|Project Muse (current issues)||online access|
|WorldCat (all dates)||online access|
In What Ways Will Student Skills be Assessed?
Chinese language students at the 100 level should be able to look up hanzi in dictionaries by radicals and stroke count, and deconstruct a sentence so that they can look up the terms in a Chinese-English dictionary.
Students completing work on a literature paper at the 200 level should demonstrate knowledge and use of some resources listed above, especially the ability to locate books in the Five College Catalog. Students should be able to cite materials using correct bibliographic format as specified in class.
At the 300 level students should routinely cite both primary and secondary sources demonstrating their ability to use the resources listed above. Chinese language students at the 300 level should be able to locate Chinese texts to use for assignments, accurately cite the source of the information, and use dictionaries easily to help them understand the purpose and content of the texts.
Ethical Use of Information
An 'ethical use of information' means to make a clear distinction between received knowledge and the production of new knowledge. The incorporation of the work of others must comply with such distinction. Therefore, every written and/or oral work in the discipline must clearly state its source, if it has any.
May 19, 2010