Comments & Questions
Click here to provide feedback on this library session and follow up with any questions about topics covered in the class.
Development Encyclopedias
- Encyclopedia of International DevelopmentCall Number: ref HD 82 .E547 2005
- Encyclopedia of the Global Economy (2 vols.)Call Number: ref HF1359 .O28 2006
General Background
Use scholarly encyclopedias and dictionaries, such as those below, for an overview of your topic, definitions, a list of suggested readings, and (sometimes) a lead on related primary source material.
- Africa South of the Sahara [Europa regional survey]Includes both country profiles and articles on many regional organizations active in the development arena.
- Cambridge Histories OnlineIncludes the Cambridge Modern History and other histories such as Cambridge History Africa, Cambridge History of South Africa, etc.
- CountryWatchSelect your country in the Quick Links box (upper left).
- Encyclopedia of African History (3 vols.)Call Number: ref DT 20 .E53 2005
- Encyclopedia of African History and Culture (5 vols.)Call Number: ref DT 3 .P27 2005
- Encyclopedia of Twentieth-Century African HistoryCall Number: ref DT 29 .E53 2003
- New Encyclopedia of Africa (5 vols.)Call Number: ref DT 2 .N48 2008
- Historical Dictionary of Civil Wars in AfricaCall Number: ref DT 21.5 .A76 2008
- Historical Dictionary of ZambiaCall Number: DT 3037 .G76 2008Browse the ref DT 300's - DT 3000's for other country-specific historical dictionaries; or, search by subject in the online catalog: country name followed by: history - dictionaries, e.g. Zambia - history - dictionaries.
