Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
News Sources & more
Access World News [NewsBank] (Coverage varies by title)
Current and archived news content including local, state, national and international newspapers, broadcast transcripts, news wires, news blogs, video, etc.
Nexis Uni (Coverage varies by title)
New Lexis-Nexis interface, with a single search box, plus filters to refine searches; users are encouraged to register for an ID & password, to take advantage of personalization features. Covers a wide range of news, business, legal & reference information; includes federal & state laws & cases.
Search for recent news, limit by topic / newspaper name / location, etc. Set up an Alert
to receive updates on your search.
For historical coverage look for "Archives" on the results screen, and set a "Custom Range" of dates.
Libraries' "News" page
Includes a links for historical coverage
Discover: Start here for books, articles & more.
- Use "Login for full access" at the top of the screen and enter your Smith login.
Discover Advanced Search includes limiting options.
Watch a video tutorial on how to do an advanced search using the Libraries' Discover search box.
Use the databases below to identify articles and essays on your topic.
- Use the buttons within the databases below to see if Smith has the article you need either in electronic or print format
- If you identify an article from another source, use the Journal Locator (see box on left)
America: History & Life with Full Text [EBSCO] 1953+
Extensive index to 1,700 journals, books, and dissertations on American and Canadian history, popular culture, anthropology, sociology, economics, education, and politics.
Gender Studies Database [EBSCO] 1972+ with some earlier coverage
Combines Women's Studies International and Men's Studies Database, with added coverage on sexual diversity issues; includes a wide array of scholarly and popular sources.
PAIS International [ProQuest] 1915+
Covers current affairs, social and public policy issues in articles, books, hearings, reports, government publications, Internet resources, and more from 120 countries.
Project Muse (Current issues)
Full text of 400+ scholarly journals in the arts and humanities, social sciences and mathematics.
Complete full text backfiles (excluding latest 2-5 years) for more than 1,000 scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, sciences, and social sciences. Now includes current coverage for several hundred journal titles, plus 30,000 eBooks.
Agricultural & Environmental Science Database [ProQuest] (Coverage varies by title)
Covers a wide range of news, business, legal, and reference information related to agricultural and environmental issues.
Use Interlibrary Loan to request journal articles that Smith does not offer online or in print.