Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Note: Google Flavors
Subject-specific academic indexes (through EBSCO, etc.) are provided by the libraries, with links to full text or call numbers.
Using Google Scholar for research? Search from an on-campus location in order to link to full text and other SC resources.
Finding Journal Articles
Focus on research in a praticular subject or field, as an alternative to the Discover search.
Academic Search Ultimate [EBSCO]
Full text for 10,000+ scholarly publications in the social sciences, humanities, arts, and sciences from around the world.
Historical Abstracts with Full Text [EBSCO] 1956+
Covers history after 1450, excluding U.S. and Canada; lists articles, books, book reviews, collections, and dissertations.
Bibliography of Asian Studies [EBSCO] 1971+
Indexes western-language books and articles on all parts of Asia.
America: History & Life with Full Text [EBSCO] 1953+
Extensive index to 1,700 journals, books, and dissertations on American and Canadian history, popular culture, anthropology, sociology, economics, education, and politics.
Access World News [NewsBank] (Coverage varies by title)
Current and archived news content including local, state, national and international newspapers, broadcast transcripts, news wires, news blogs, video, etc.
Nexis Uni (Coverage varies by title)
New Lexis-Nexis interface, with a single search box, plus filters to refine searches; users are encouraged to register for an ID & password, to take advantage of personalization features. Covers a wide range of news, business, legal & reference information; includes federal & state laws & cases.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers (Coverage varies by title)
Full text articles from the Boston Globe, Chicago Defender, Chicago Tribune, New York Times, New York Herald Tribune, Los Angeles Times, Washington Post, Atlanta Constitution, Jerusalem Post, New York Amsterdam News, and Times of India.
Smith links to news sites & databases
Get help from Sika Berger