Reference Sources - Find background information and links to articles and more
Child Welfare Law in the United States
(Oxford Bibliographies Online) SEE: Adoption, Foster Care, Termination of Parental Rights, and other sections- Adoption and Fostering(Oxford Bibliographies Online) SEE: Fosterage and Fostering section for international perspectives, and Debates & Critiques
Look for new chapters in the Oxford Bibliographies Online "Childhood Studies" group, on topics such as children's rights, orphans, NGO's, refugee and displaced children, and regions of the world.
- Adoption: Forms, Functions, and Preferencesfrom The Oxford Handbook of Evolutionary Child Psychology
- Aging Out of Foster Carefrom The Oxford Handbook of Emerging Adulthood
- The Dynamic of Poverty and Affluence in Child AdoptionOxford Handbook of Poverty and Child Development
The Encyclopedia of Social Work features background information on services and policy, and academic references. Articles include:
Search Social Policy websites
Search the web using this custom search box. Find position papers, briefings, reports, and more from organizations recommended by faculty:
Example: NCSL's Extending Foster Care Policy Toolkit
Selected Websites for Reports and Statistics
- Children's Bureau: Child Welfare OutcomesData and reports on adoption, foster care, family assessment, etc.
- Childrens Rights: Foster Care ReformDetailed information about child welfare class actions and individual cases around the U.S.
- Child Welfare Information GatewayFind publications, state resources, topics, adoption statistics and more.
- Grandfamilies.orgIncludes a searchable database of state laws and legislation
- Kids Count Data CenterFind Foster Care data , such as Children in foster care waiting for adoption by race and Hispanic origin." Search for adoption data and national and state data on kinship care.
- Research:SOS Children's Villages InternationalReports look at care arrangements in many countries, including publications on aging out of care and information about NGO's and national standards.