Skip to Main Content

GEO112: Archeological Geology of Rock Art and Stone Artifacts: Finding Articles

Spring 2018, B. Glumac

Search Tips: Articles

Look for  SC Links  when searching Smith's databases to find full text online, print holdings, or a link to Interlibrary Loan.

Or use Journal Locator if you know the title of the journal.

journal title

Enter the journal title,
not the article title

year (optional)

Advanced Search
(more search options)

Articles not at Smith


Interlibrary Loan

Request articles not available at Smith.

Journals by Title

 

Click SC Links when searching Smith's databases to find full text online, print holdings, or a link to Interlibrary Loan.

Or use the Journal Locator (below):

journal title

Enter the journal title,
not the article title

year (optional)

Advanced Search
(more search options)

Bound journals are available through the Five College Catalog.

Indexes to Archaeology and Geology Literature in Periodicals

Class example keyword searches:

  • soapstone or steatite
  • quarr*
  • native america*

Academic Search Premier  Full text for 4,500+ scholarly publications in the social sciences, humanities, arts, and sciences.

Art Abstracts and Art Index Retrospective
Providing access to articles, exhibition reviews, and reproductions published in art and archaeology magazines, journals, and museum newsletters and bulletins published throughout the world. Art Abstracts covers 1984 to the present, Art Index Retrospective covers 1929 to 1984.

America: History and Life
Indexes journals, books, and dissertations for material about American and Canadian history. 1953 to the present.

DYABOLA: RealKatalog DAI Rom
An electronic version of the subject and alphabetic catalogs of the Deutsches Archäologisches Institut, the standard bibliography of material on classical art and archaeology. It provides regular access to over 1,100 journals and series as well as to books and essays in Festschriften and other collections published throughout the world. Covers 1956 to the present.

General Science Abstracts  Articles from over 160 journals and magazines from the U.S. and Great Britain. Covers general science topics including anthropology, astronomy, pollution, biology, computers, earth sciences, medicine, health, more. 1984 to present.

Geoarchaeology  An international journal.

Geobase  Covers over 2000 sources including jurnals, books, conference proceedings and reports with information about geography, geology, ecology, more. 1980 to present.

GeoRef  Access to over 2.3 million references to articles, books, maps, conference papers, reports and theses covering the geology of North America from 1785 to the present and the geology of the rest of the world from 1933 to the present.

Google Scholar Links to scholarly books, articles and more. Results are incomplete and vary greatly by subject. Always use the libraries' research databases for a complete search of scholarly topics.

Historical Abstracts
Index to articles in periodicals, books, conference proceedings, dissertations, and other publications on world history (excluding North America) from 1450 to the present.

JSTOR
Complete digital backfiles (excepting the most current 2 to 5 years) for more than 400 scholarly journals. Includes a flexible search engine and also allows browsing through individual issues of journals.

Web of Science  Indexes and abstracts science and technical journals (1900 to the present) and social science journals (2003 to the present) published around the world.  Provides unique cited reference searching.

 

Scholarly vs. Popular

Distinguishing Scholarly Journals from Other Periodicals.
Cornell University Library, Olin & Uris Libraries. Last updated November 13, 2009.

Online Documentation

 Geological Society of America

Fasti Online. International Association for Classical Archaeology.
"A database of archaeological excavations since the year 2000" covering Italy and eastern Europe. Entries for each site excavated include a basic record sheet and may also include "the interim report for the year, together with any further documentation the [site] director wishes to add. There is no chronological limitation to the sites listed, which range from the Upper Palaeolithic to the nineteenth century..." Some reports include bibliographies.

  • Continues the print index, Fasti Archaeologici (1946-1987), Art Periodical GN700 .I552