Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Find Journals by Title
Use Journal Locator if you know
the title of the journal.
Search Discover: Geoscience
Explore thousands of books and catalogs, images and other media, articles, reviews, and more with Smith's cross-database search.
Geoscience Databases for Finding Articles
Databases search thousands of journals at the same time. Searching databases will help you find a lot of results but can sometimes be overwhelming. See the list of journals below for finding fewer, but more targeted articles.
Academic Search Ultimate [EBSCO] This link opens in a new window
Full text for 10,000+ scholarly publications in the social sciences, humanities, arts, and sciences from around the world.
Geobase 1973+ This link opens in a new window
Lists research literature on earth sciences: geology, geography, environmental science, oceanography, geomechanics, alternative energy, pollution, waste management & conservation. Covers journals, trade publications, book & conference proceedings.
GeoRef [EBSCO] This link opens in a new window
Extensive index to articles, books, maps, papers, reports, etc. on the geology of North America from 1785 to the present and world geology from 1933+.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Complete full text backfiles (excluding latest 2-5 years) for more than 1,000 scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, sciences, and social sciences. Now includes current coverage for several hundred journal titles, plus 30,000 eBooks.
Science Direct This link opens in a new window
Indexes 2500 journals and 6000 books in science, technology and the social sciences from Elsevier Science.
Web of Science 1898+ This link opens in a new window
(Formerly Web of Knowledge) Indexes and abstracts science & technology journals (1899+), social science journals (1898+), and arts & humanities journals (1975+) published around the world; offers cited reference searching.