Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Discover: Start here for books, articles & more.
- Use "Login for full access" at the top of the screen and enter your Smith login.
Discover Advanced Search includes limiting options.
Always use at least two chronologies to be sure you have gotten two or more perspectives.
Timetables of History by
Publication Date: 2008-08-12
Call Number: ref D11.G78 2005
Timetables of History offers information on over 10,000 major events, from ancient times to the present. It serves as a historical outline from the first civilizations to today. It is catalogued by time period, with sections devoted to major developments in art, science, politics, etc. The perfect reference for students and history buffs alike.
Cassell's Chronology of World History
Call Number: ref D 11 .W635 2005
The People's Chronology
Call Number: ref D 11 .T83 1992
Chronology of World History, 3000 B.C. to A.D. 1973
Call Number: ref D 11 .F85 1975
Dictionary of Dates
Call Number: ref D 9 .K4 vol. 1, p. 89-90
ARTstor This link opens in a new window
More than two million images support research in a wide variety of subjects. Includes collections specific to Smith College developed to meet teaching needs in the arts, humanities, and sciences, as well as images of works from the Smith College Museum. Using Artstor
provides information about searching as well as using images in papers and presentations.
Google Image Search
Use the Usage Rights search to find non-commercially licensed images for use in your research.
Mortimer Rare Book Collection
Examine a print copy of the Encyclopédie!
The ARTFL Encyclopédie database is a digital version of Diderot's Encyclopédie, and contains 21.7 million words, 254,000 unique forms, 18,000 pages of text, 17 volumes of articles, and 11 volumes of plate legends.
Citation Help for MLA Style
Women's and French History
Critical Dictionary of the French Revolution
Call Number: ref DC 148 .D5313 1989, p. 252-64
France: a reference guide from the Renaissance to the present
Call Number: ref DC 35 .R64 2004, p. 635-7
The French Revolution by
In 1837 Thomas Carlyle published his work The French Revolution: A History and overnight became a celebrity.The work was filled with a passionate intensity, hitherto unknown in historical writing. In a politically-charged Europe, filled with fears and hopes of revolution, Carlyle's account of the motivations and urges that inspired the events in France became powerfully relevant. Carlyle's style emphasized this, continually pointing to the urgency of action - often using the present tense. For him, chaotic events demanded 'heroes' to take control over the competing forces erupting within society. In Carlyle's view only dynamic individuals could master events and direct these energies effectively. As soon as ideological formulas replaced heroes and human action, society became dehumanized.As Ruth Scurr shows in her masterly introduction and through the texts she has selected from Carlyle's masterpiece of historical writing, The French Revolution needs still to be read for its relevance and as one of the finest examples of English prose writing ever.
Publication Date: 2010-04-29
Grand encyclopedie (1888-1902)
Call Number: ref AE 25 .G7 vol. 23, p. 104+
Historical Dictionary of the French Revolution
Call Number: ref DC 147 .H57 1985 vol. 2
History of the French Revolution by
Francois Mignet's 'Histoire de la revolution francaise' is a study of the events that caused a huge shift of power in France around the turn of the 19th Century. This was primarily a study of the theories and ideologies behind the events, rather than a factual record."
Publication Date: 2012-06-15
Longman Companion to the French Revolution
Call Number: RESERVE DC 148 .J57 1990, 2 copies
Women in World History
Call Number: ref HQ 1115 .W6 vol. 10
Teaching, Learning & Research Staff
Zotero ("zoh-TAIR-oh") is a free research tool that allows you to:
- Collect & organize citations
- Attach PDFs, notes, and images to your citations
- Cite sources within your paper/thesis
- Share Zotero libraries (folders)
It's easy to use, and best of all, it's free. Zotero works with Chrome, Firefox and Safari, which allows you to work directly from your web browser. Learn more at Zotero.org.