Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

FYS157: Syria Beyond the Headlines: News & Websites

Fall 2020, S. Heydemann

News Sources

Google News searchAccess World NewsNexisUni

Search across websites for FYS 157

Search for news, articles and more on specific sites suggested by Professor Heydemann: 

Google Custom Search

Recommended Websites

Arab Reform Initiative.  http://www.arab-reform.net/

Atlantic Council, Rafik Hariri Center for the Middle East.
https://www.atlanticcouncil.org/programs/middle-east-programs/rafik-hariri-center-for-the-middle-east/

Belling Cat (open source intelligence analysis). www.bellingcat.com.

The Brookings Institution, Center for Middle East Policy.  http://www.brookings.edu/about/centers/middle-east-policy

Carnegie Endowment for International Peace.  http://carnegieendowment.org/

Carter Center.  http://www.cartercenter.org/countries/syria-peace.html

Foreign Policy.  http://www.foreignpolicy.com (subscription required for full access)

German Institute for International and Security Affairs.  https://www.swp-berlin.org/en/

Human Rights Watch.  https://www.hrw.org/

International Crisis Group.  http://www.crisisgroup.org/

Institute for the Study of War.  http://www.understandingwar.org/

Institute for War and Peace Reporting.  https://iwpr.net/projects/mena

International Rescue Committee.  http://www.rescue.org/

Jadaliyya.  http://ww.jadaliyya.com

Middle East Research and Information Project.  http://www.merip.org/

Norwegian Refugee Council.  http://www.nrc.no/?aid=9147821

Project on Middle East Democracy.  http://pomed.org/

Project on Middle East Political Science.  http://pomeps.org/

Rebel Economy. http://rebeleconomy.com/about/.

St. Andrews University, Centre for Syrian Studies.  http://css.wp.st-andrews.ac.uk/

Siege Watch.  http://siegewatch.org/.

Syria Center for Policy Research. http://scpr-syria.org

Syria Comment.  http://www.joshualandis.com/blog/

Syria Direct.  http://syriadirect.org/

Syrian Economic Task Force.  http://syrianeconomic.net/home/home/

The Syria Institute. http://syriainstitute.org.

Syria Untold: Cities in Revolution. http://cities.syriauntold.com/?lang=en.

Washington Institute for Near East Policy.  http://www.washingtoninstitute.org/

UN High Commissioner for Refugees.   http://data.unhcr.org/syrianrefugees/regional.php

UN Office for the Coordination of Humanitarian Affairs (OCHA): Syria. http://www.unocha.org/syria

US Agency for International Development.
http://www.usaid.gov/what-we-do/working-crises-and-conflict/responding-times-crisis/where-we-work/syria

Yassin al-Haj Saleh.  http://www.yassinhs.com/

Get help from Sika Berger

Sika Berger

Contact:

413-585-2963
sberger@smith.edu
Young Library 204
 - working remotely as of March 16, 2020 -

Fall Friday open Zoom Hour:
noon to 1 p.m.  -  bit.ly/meetsika

Help