Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Background and historical research
Routledge Handbook of Immigration and Refugee Studies
Publication Date: Oct.2015
Browse or search 43 chapters with references and links to many sources, covering:
• Integration and citizenship
• Migration, families and welfare
• Smuggling and trafficking in human beings
• Asylum and forced migration
Try the custom Google search on the News & Websites tab.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Links to scholarly books, articles and more. Results are incomplete and vary greatly by subject. Always use the libraries' research databases for a complete search of scholarly topics.
Discover Advanced Search (Catalog Only)
SIGN IN first to use Place Request -- get books from other campuses
Searching by Subject isn't always straightforward.
Try a KEYWORDS ANYWHERE search to find a few relevant titles. Then click on the subject headings on those records to continue your search, or look up a book you've come across and use the subjects to find more on the topic.
"Subject" Examples (use the pull-down menu to choose subject searching):
Syria -- History -- Civil War, 2011-
Syria -- Emigration and immigration
Syria -- Foreign relations -- 21st century
Syria -- History -- 20th century
Syria -- Politics and government
Assad, Bashar, 1965-
Refugees -- Syria
Discover This link opens in a new window
Searches across the Five College Library Catalog, and the libraries' general and specialized journal article databases and full text sources.
Articles and more in-depth materials
Search the EBSCO databases listed below, all at the same time!
Academic Search Ultimate [EBSCO] This link opens in a new window
Full text for 10,000+ scholarly publications in the social sciences, humanities, arts, and sciences from around the world.
Social Sciences Abstracts [EBSCO] 1983+ This link opens in a new window
Abstracts and some full text of articles from 550+ sources in anthropology, political science, economics, psychology, geography, and sociology; with interviews, obituaries, and book reviews.
Gender Studies Database [EBSCO] 1972+ with some earlier coverage This link opens in a new window
Combines Women's Studies International and Men's Studies Database, with added coverage on sexual diversity issues; includes a wide array of scholarly and popular sources.
Historical Abstracts with Full Text [EBSCO] 1956+ This link opens in a new window
Allows limiting to time period you are studying.
Index Islamicus [EBSCO] 1906+ This link opens in a new window
Lists articles, books, essays, reviews on Islam, the Middle East & the Muslims worldwide. Covers art, archaeology, economics, history, law, literature, philosophy, politics, religion, sciences, etc.
Communication & Mass Media Complete [EBSCO] This link opens in a new window
Full text for 300+ journals and indexing for 300+ others.
Get help from Sika Berger
Zotero! + handout
A Smith libraries guide to using Zotero, a free online tool that helps you gather, manage, store, and generate citations and bibliographies.