Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
From Wikipedia: A tertiary source is an index and/or textual consolidation of primary and secondary sources. Some tertiary sources are not to be used for academic research, unless they can also be used as secondary sources, or to find other sources.
Cambridge Histories Online This link opens in a new window
There are 15 volumes in the Cambridge History of China series. You need to know the time period in order to get to the right volume. The books display according to most recently published.
Cambridge Encyclopedia of China
Call Number: ref DS 705 .C35 1991
Encyclopedia of China
Call Number: ref DS 705 .P47 1999
China: a historical and cultural dictionary
Call Number: ref DS 733 .C58523 1998
Companion to Chinese History
Call Number: ref DS 705 .O63 1987
Dictionary of Chinese History
Call Number: ref DS 733 .D54 1979
Dictionary of Ming Biography: 1368-1644
Call Number: ref DS 753.5 A84 1976 (2 vols.)
The Ming-Qing Conflict, 1619-1683: A Historiography & Source Guide
Call Number: ref DS 753.2 .S77 1998
Digital Reference Tools
Reference Universe 1980+ This link opens in a new window
Includes: Encyclopedia Of China :The Essential Reference To China, Its History And Culture, 1999; Encyclopedia Of Religion, 2005; Censorship :A World Encyclopedia, 2001; Encyclopedia of Ethics, 2001 ...
In some cases, you will be able to access the article online, but in other cases you will be sent to the library catalog to locate the print reference book.