Skip to main content

ENG299: Colloquium - Literary Research Methods: Home

Fall 2018, N. Miller

Handbooks & Companions

Discover

Discover: Start here for books, articles & more

Many EBSCO databases, such as MLA International Bibliography, Gender Studies, and Sociology Source Ultimate are included.

Discover Advanced Search includes limiting options.

Searches not included in Discover

Literary Criticism

Try a keyword search to find critical works, for example:
   nabokov and criticism

or use "subject begins with" search with author's name:
   Woolf, Virginia, 1882-1941 -- Criticism and interpretation

No need to add the search term "criticism".  Try a simple keyword search, for example:

toni morrison and sula and (identity or self*)

If full text is not available through MLA, use SCLinks to locate other sources of the article or to request with Interlibrary Loan.

Search Examples

The MLA International Bibliography has very useful limits in the pull-down menus next to the search lines.

advanced search in MLA International Bibliography

Choose Criticism at the top of the search box to limit your advanced search.

search for criticism in Literature Online

WorldCat includes Five College LIbraries and otherss. With Interlibrary Loan we can borrow books. You can include subject and keyword options:

[ "first nations" or "native american" or "indians of north america" ]

WorldCat advanced search

Get help from Sika Berger

Sika Berger

Contact:

413-585-2963
sberger@smith.edu
Young Library 204
 - working remotely as of March 16, 2020 -

Help
Libraries Service Desk:
413-585-2960