Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Words and Phrases Index
Call Number: ref PE 1689 .W3
Each of the four volumes in this set lists different articles. Use them all.
Bibliography of English Etymology
Call Number: ref PE 1571 .L53 2010
Look up your word in the Word List beginning on page 419.
Slang, glorious slang
Encyclopedia of Swearing: the social history of oaths, profanity, foul language, and ethnic slurs in the English-speaking world
Call Number: ref PE 3724 .O3 H84 2006
New Partridge Dictionary of Slang and Unconventional English
Call Number: ref PE 3721 .P325 2006
Routledge dictionary of modern American slang and unconventional English
Call Number: ref PE 3721 .P3 2009
Random House Historical Dictionary of American Slang
Call Number: ref PE 2846.H57 1994
Caveat: only two of the three projected volumes have been published, so this two-volume set only has words up through the letter "O."
Word Origins - Etymological Dictionaries
American Heritage Dictionary of Indo-European Roots
Call Number: ref P 615 .A43 2011
Facts on File Encyclopedia of Word and Phrase Origins by
Call Number: ref PE 1689 .H47 2008b
Etymological Dictionary of the English Language by
Call Number: ref PE 1580 .S5 1974
Origins: A Short Etymological Dictionary of Modern English by
Call Number: ref PE 1580 .P3 1958b
Origins of English Words by
Call Number: ref PE 1571 .S46 1984
An Analytical Dictionary of English Etymology
Call Number: ref PE 1580 .L53 2008
Oxford Dictionary of English Etymology by
Call Number: ref PE 1580 .O9
Onomastic Resources / Dictionaries of Names
People's Names by
Call Number: SC Annex Stacks / CS2305 .I54 1997 **OR** UM W.E.B. Du Bois / CS2305 .I54 1997
Tens of thousands of names from almost every culture, contemporary and historical are included in this unique reference work.
What in the Word? by
Call Number: UM W.E.B. Du Bois PE1596 .M87 1996
Explains the origins of real & imaginary person & place names.
People's Names by
Call Number: SC Annex Stacks CS2305 .I54 1997
Tens of thousands of names from almost every culture, contemporary and historical are included in this unique reference work. For each cultural group's onomasticon, an essay outlines its rules for naming, if different from English, along with its use of family names, gender specific names, and name order. A listing of at least 50 first names for each gender and at least 100 family names is then provided for each culture.
Call Number: UM W.E.B. Du Bois / CS2377 .M57
First Names First by
Call Number: MH Stacks / CS2367 .D84 1977b **OR** UM W.E.B. Du Bois / CS2367 .D84 1977b
The Name Dictionary by
Call Number: UM W.E.B. Du Bois / CS2367 .K65 1976
Spalding allows 40 centuries of Jewry to speak for itself, not through tears, but laughter; sometimes with a sigh, but mostly in jubilant fashion.
An Anthropology of Names and Naming by
Call Number: SC Annex GN27 .A68 2006Library Info
This book is about personal names, something of abiding interest to specialists and lay readers alike.
Get help from Cat Hannula