Attacking Africa's Poverty by Louise Fox (Editor); Robert Liebenthal (Editor); World Bank StaffBy all measures, poverty in Africa as a whole has increased and deepened. But in fact, Africa contains a number of undocumented success stories of poverty reduction. This book presents case studies of thirteen of these success stories, giving grounds for some real hope, and providing useful learning for all--policymakers, governments, businesses, service providers, NGOs, and donors.
Call Number: SC Annex Stacks HC800.Z9 P6318 2006
Publication Date: 2006-03-10
Do-It-Yourself Sustainable Water Projects by Paul DempseyA STEP-BY-STEP GUIDE TO BUILDING 10 INEXPENSIVEPROJECTS THAT HELP YOU CONSERVE WATER … SO SIMPLE YOU CAN DO IT YOURSELF! People can live without SUVs, jet travel, and numerous other luxuries. But no life, human or otherwise, can survive without our most precious natural resource: water. Do-it-Yourself Sustainable Water Projects offers a basis for understanding the importance of conserving water, explains how the lack of it affects differentregions around the world, and provides practical information on how to collect, store, purify, and drill for this magical substance. In this easy-to-follow guide, master mechanic Paul Dempsey provides costeffective ways we can reduce or eliminate our dependence on public water supplies. Everything you need to know to create 10 inexpensive waterprojects is here -- from collecting rainwater and air conditioner condensate to properly drilling and constructing pump systems. These projects areaccompanied by step-by-step instructions, drawings, photos, and even sources for inexpensive parts -- so you can do it yourself. Whether you're interested in becoming knowledgeable about insufficient global water supplies or you just want to conserve water -- from creating a composting toilet to building a rainwater harvesting system -- this book isan effective way to help save our most critical resource. Do-it-Yourself Sustainable Water Projects includes information on: 10 inexpensive water projects How to adjust behavior to conserve water List of resources including web sites, published texts, and vendors Calculating your "water footprint" Pumps and related components Easy-to-follow ways to drill for water Getting water from air "Water vulnerability"
Call Number: SC Annex Stacks TD353 .D45 2013
Publication Date: 2013-01-30
The Future of Water in African Cities by Michael Jacobsen (Editor); Michael Webster (Editor); Kalanithy Vairavamoorthy (Editor); World Bank StaffThe objective of this study is to assist public authorities to identify and address the future challenges of urban water supply, sanitation, and flood management in cities. In order to do that, this report uses the conceptual framework of Integrated Urban Water Management (IUWM) as a holistic set of planning and management tools incorporating all components of the urban water cycle to help develop efficient and flexible urban water systems in the future.The future of water in African cities: why waste water? argues that a new approach to urban water management is needed in Africa. Due to their rapid urbanization, cities in Sub-Saharan Africa will face increasing challenges in order to provide water supply to the growing population. Future water supply for cities will also depend on the potential to sustain water resources of good quality in the river basin and to manage competing uses within the watershed. The complexity of these challenges coupled with future uncertainty due to climate change will require a more sustainable, integrated and adaptive water management approach.Reviewing a series of case studies in Uganda, Kenya and Cameroon, and having conducted a diagnostic of 31 cities in Sub-Saharan Africa, this report suggests that the challenges faced by cities in Africa cannot be solved by the traditional approach of one source, one system, and one discharge. The 4 cases studies of this report illustrate the combination of existing technology and surface water with new sources (e.g. groundwater and greywater recycling) within the river basin that will increase water security for cities. In some cases, planning decentralized and modular solutions will bring more flexibility and adaptation to expanding cities.The future of water in African cities: why waste water? is aimed at urban planners, water managers, policy makers, development agencies and stakeholders interested in innovative solutions to urban water management challenges. IUWM will help policymakers in African cities consider a wider range of solutions, understand water's interaction with other sectors, and secure resilience under a range of future conditions.
Publication Date: 2012-11-01
Healing Appalachia by Al Fritsch; Paul GallimoreHealing Appalachia is a practical guide for environmentally conscious residents of Appalachia and beyond. It is also the first book to apply "appropriate technology," or the most basic technology that can effectively achieve the desired result, to this specific region. Authors Al Fritsch and Paul Gallimore have performed over 200 environmental resource assessments in thirty-three states. They bring this knowledge to bear as they examine thirty low-cost, people-friendly, and environmentally benign appropriate technologies that can be put to work today in Appalachia. They discuss such issues as renewable energy and energy conservation, food preservation and gardening, forest management, land use, transportation, water conservation, proper waste disposal, and wildlife protection. They pay close attention to the practicality of each technique according to affordability, ease of use, and ecological soundness. Their subjects range from solar home heating to greenhouses, from aquaculture to compost toilets, from organic gardening to wildlife restoration and enhancement, and from solar cars to microhydropower facilities. Their discussions of each topic benefit from the knowledge gained from thirty years of practical experience at environmental demonstration centers and public interest and educational organizations. Each section of the book includes details on construction and maintenance, as well as resources for locating further information, making this an essential volume for everyone who cares about the future of Appalachia.
Call Number: SC Annex Stacks T21.5.A67 F75 2007
Publication Date: 2007-05-11
The Humanure Handbook by Joseph JenkinsThere are almost seven billion defecating people on planet Earth, but few who have any clue about how to constructively handle the burgeoning mountain of human crap. The Humanure Handbook, third edition, will amuse you, educate you, and possibly offend you, but it will certainly pertain to you--unless, of course, your bowels never move. This new edition of The Humanure Handbook is: The Tenth Anniversary Edition Richly illustrated with eye-candy artwork Perfect for reading while sitting on the "throne" Revised, improved, and updated 256 pages of crap
Call Number: Request from Hampshire: HC Stacks S657 .J46 2005
Water, Sanitation, Hygiene, and Nutrition in Bangladesh by Iffat Mahmud; Nkosinathi Mbuya; World Bank Staff (Contribution by)Since the 1960s, it has been known that poor water and sanitation causes diarrhea, which consequently compromises child growth and leads to undernutrition. Ample evidence shows that poor water and sanitation causes diarrhea, but there is a growing body of knowledge discussing the magnitude of the impact of diarrhea on undernutrition. A recent hypothesis by Humphrey (2009), for example, states that the predominant impact of contaminated water and poor sanitation on undernutrition is via tropical/environmental enteropathy (triggered by exposure to fecal matter) rather than mediated by diarrhea. This new hypothesis has generated much debate, especially in the South Asia region, on the contribution of water and sanitation to the South Asian Nutrition Enigma. The region is characterized by unusually high rates of child undernutrition relative to its income level, as well as a slow reduction in undernutrition. Practitioners have struggled to decipher the reasons behind this 'anomaly.' This report provides a systematic review of the evidence to date, both published and grey literature, on the relationship between water and sanitation and nutrition. We also survey the potential impact of improved water, sanitation, and hygiene (WASH) on undernutrition. This is the first report that undertakes a thorough review and discussion of WASH and nutrition in Bangladesh. The report is meant to serve two purposes. First, it synthesizes the results/evidence evolving on the pathway of WASH and undernutrition for use by practitioners working in the nutrition and water and sanitation sectors to stimulate technical discussions and effective collaboration among stakeholders. Second, this report serves as an advocacy tool, primarily for policy makers, to assist them in formulating a multisectoral approach to tackling the undernutrition problem.
250,000 eBooks published by Springer and its subsidiary imprints, covering every scientific discipline, with some coverage of the social sciences & humanities. Includes access to Springer's Print on Demand Service (MyCopy).
A very large collection of eBooks, mostly scholarly, spanning the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. If you’re using your own laptop or desktop, install Adobe Digital Editions; for offline reading, go to the App Store or Google Play to download the Bluefire app for iOS and Android devices. Help.