Encyclopedias
Videos and Streaming Media
- Kanopy: Documentaries and Movies on SchoolsKanopy provides high quality educational films, documentaries, and independent feature films about a variety of topics.
- Snag Films: EducationSnag Films is a streaming service that displays independent films - including many documentaries about social issues. A great resource for finding videos produced by high school and middle school students.
Getting Started
Still thinking about your research question?
Visit a reference source, such as the encyclopedias in the lefthand column. You'll find essays that give general overviews of a variety of topics. The bibliography for an encyclopedia entry may lead you to sources that cover the issue in more depth.
You might also find that recent journalism about Education in the US will help you refine your topic. You'll find media sources - including newspapers, social media, radio journalism, and documentaries in the box below.
Scholarly journals
Once you have a research question, it's easier to approach the large selection of scholarly journal articles available in Smith's electronic databases. Try a keyword search in Discover, and explore the databases listed in the section of this guide entitled, "Finding Articles & Books."
Meet with a librarian
If you run into any barriers during your search, want help refining your topic, or feel like there is something out there you just can't find - don't hesitate to make an appointment for a research consultation!
Media Sources
- PressReader This link opens in a new windowAccess the most current editions of over 4,000 newspapers & magazines from more than 100 countries in 60 languages. Viewable on PCs, smartphones & tablets.
- LexisNexis Academic: Magazine StoriesWith the All News search form, use the pull-down menu for BY TYPE: to select magazines
- LexisNexis (New York Times) 1980+Full text HTML. Articles appear same day. Access to certain freelance articles and other features may not be available.
- Alt-PressWatch [ProQuest] 1995+ This link opens in a new windowFull text database for 130+ newspapers, magazines and journals from alternative and independent presses.
- This American Life Radio: EducationThe archives of This American Life contain more than 20 years of long-form documentary reporting on topics ranging from childhood, aspirations, opportunity, inequality, immigration, community, etc. Many focus on education. Stories tend to go in depth about the experiences of a specific school, individual, family or community, and may provide additional qualitative data to supplement a case study.
- WNYC: SchoolBookWith 1.1 million students, he New York City School system is the largest in the United States. WNYC's SchoolBook tracks current issues in NYC Education - including school governance, charter schools, bilingual education, achievement statistics, violence prevention, and more.
