Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Citing Works of Art
Citations should include the following information (or as much of it as can be easily determined from the source) in addition to the standard citation elements for the print or electronic source of the image of the work:
artists name, title of the work as given in the source, date, location of the work if known (standard reference or note citation for the source publication).
Citing Works in Image Databases
Citations to images included in image databases (ARTstor, LUNA, etc.), should include the following (or as much of it as can be easily determined from the source):
creator's name, title of the work as given in the database, location of the work if known, date (database collection if known).
Citation Formats for Bibliographies & References
Citation Guides & Style Manuals
Smith Libraries guide links to online versions of MLA, Chicago, and other popular manuals for writing papers and formatting footnote and bibliography citations. Includes a section on how to cite images.
MLA Format (Purdue Online Writing Lab)
Format of MLA research papers, in-text citations, endnotes/footnotes, and the Works Cited page.
Chicago Manual of Style. 17th ed.
Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 2010.
explains the notes and bibliography system. Chapter 14.19
and following sections provide guidance on formatting footnotes and bibliography entries for books, articles, online resources, and other sources.
Chicago Manual of Style. 17th ed. Notes & Bibliography (Purdue Online Writing Lab)
Format of Chicago Style research papers, in-text citations, endnotes/footnotes, and the Works Cited page.
Online in Ebrary
Walker, Janice R., and Todd Taylor. The Columbia Guide to Online Style. 2nd ed. New York: Columbia University Press, 2006.
Covers humanities and scientific formats.