Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Books: Some Examples
Drinking Water by This book takes a broad and eclectic view of the water that all humanity depends upon, probing its role in human life and in the history of our planet, as well as surveying the latest scientific understanding of purification techniques and standards for the protection of water quality. The volume opens with a chapter on the role of drinking water in human life, which discusses the planet's water resources, the quality of drinking water, water and health, the advent of water quality standards, "Green" chemistry and more. The chapter concludes by discussing the relationship of the biosphere and human civilization. Chapter Two explores the unique properties of water, the role of water in the scenario of development on Earth. Also covered is the current understanding of the importance of the isotopic composition of water, in particular the ratio of protium to deuterium, which is fundamental to life. The third chapter is devoted to Water Clusters, examining the structure, properties and formation of clusters. Also covered here is theoretical research on the interaction of water clusters with ozone, the impact of temperature on water clusters and more. Chapter Four is devoted to drinking water and factors affecting its quality. Discussion includes ecological and hygienic classification of centralized drinking water supply sources, water quality requirements, and problems and potentialities of drinking water preparation. The author introduces a new concept for supplying the population with high-quality drinking water. The fifth chapter examines the peculiarities and problems of water decontamination, with sections on chlorination, ozonation, the bactericidal effects of ultrasound and ultraviolet rays and more. Chapter Six offers a thorough exploration of the theory, means and methods of bio testing as an evaluation method for the quality of drinking water. The final chapter discusses new state standards for drinking water, as well as requirements and methods of quality control. The concluding selection relates the urgent need to measure, evaluate and protect the quality of drinking water and describes a new state standard of drinking water quality.
Publication Date: 2014-07-08
Drinking Water by But how it gets from the ground to the glass is far more complex than we might think. With concerns over pollution and new technologies like fracking, is it safe to drink tap water? Should we feel guilty buying bottled water? Is the water we drink vulnerable to terrorist attacks? With springs running dry and reservoirs emptying, where is our water going to come from in the future?In Drinking Water, Duke University professor and environmental policy expert James Salzman shows how drinking water highlights the most pressing issues of our time--from globalization and social justice to terrorism and climate change--and how humans have been wrestling with these problems for centuries. From the aqueducts of Rome to the revolutionary sewer system in nineteenth-century London to today's state-of-the-art desalination plants, safety and scarcity of water have always been one of society's most important functions.
Call Number: Request from Smith College Annex
Nobody by A New York Times bestseller “[Nobody] examines the interlocking mechanisms that systematically disadvantage 'those marked as poor, black, brown, immigrant, queer, or trans'—those, in Hill’s words, who are Nobodies...A worthy and necessary addition to the contemporary canon of civil rights literature.” —The New York Times “An impassioned analysis of headline-making cases…Timely, controversial, and bound to stir already heated discussion.” —Kirkus Reviews “A thought-provoking and important analysis of oppression, recommended for those seeking clarity on current events.” —Library Journal Unarmed citizens shot by police. Drinking water turned to poison. Mass incarcerations. We’ve heard the individual stories. Now a leading public intellectual and acclaimed journalist offers a powerful, paradigm-shifting analysis of America’s current state of emergency, finding in these events a larger and more troubling truth about race, class, and what it means to be “Nobody.” Protests in Ferguson, Missouri and across the United States following the death of Michael Brown revealed something far deeper than a passionate display of age-old racial frustrations. They unveiled a public chasm that has been growing for years, as America has consistently and intentionally denied significant segments of its population access to full freedom and prosperity. In Nobody, scholar and journalist Marc Lamont Hill presents a powerful and thought-provoking analysis of race and class by examining a growing crisis in America: the existence of a group of citizens who are made vulnerable, exploitable and disposable through the machinery of unregulated capitalism, public policy, and social practice. These are the people considered “Nobody” in contemporary America. Through on-the-ground reporting and careful research, Hill shows how this Nobody class has emerged over time and how forces in America have worked to preserve and exploit it in ways that are both humiliating and harmful. To make his case, Hill carefully reconsiders the details of tragic events like the deaths of Michael Brown, Sandra Bland, and Freddie Gray, and the water crisis in Flint, Michigan. He delves deeply into a host of alarming trends including mass incarceration, overly aggressive policing, broken court systems, shrinking job markets, and the privatization of public resources, showing time and time again the ways the current system is designed to worsen the plight of the vulnerable. Timely and eloquent, Nobody is a keen observation of the challenges and contradictions of American democracy, a must-read for anyone wanting to better understand the race and class issues that continue to leave their mark on our country today.
Call Number: Request from Smith College Annex
Publication Date: 2016-07-26
Water, Sanitation and Hygiene in Humanitarian Contexts by Earthquakes, tsunamis, floods, droughts, disease outbreaks as well as conflicts are all crises that result in death as well as profound disruption to those left behind, and to those communities who shelter them. Among the most urgent interventions are those to provide water, sanitation and hygiene (WASH) to affected communities. Water, Sanitation and Hygiene in Humanitarian Contexts presents contributions on the changing field of humanitarian WASH response and questions research and practice in this field. What are the research gaps in WASH response? What are the most effective means of providing clean water in different settings? How are the latest innovations in emergency sanitation performing? How can women's menstrual hygiene needs best be met in humanitarian situations? The chapters address a wide range of WASH subjects, in a variety of geographical settings and are written by experienced practitioners and researchers. The approach of the book is straightforward and practical, with little theory - the focus being on improving professional practice in the midst of humanitarian suffering. This book is written for those whose everyday work involves humanitarian response to WASH needs in emergencies and disasters, but it is also aimed at development professionals from the WASH and other sectors, including researchers and practitioners.
Call Number: Request from Smith College Annex
Library Catalogs and Book Resources
Flickr: http://farm5.staticflickr.com/4035/4263328317_329e667327_m.jpg By Horia Varlan
Five College Library Catalog
Perform a keyword or subject search for your topic of interest.
Five College Library Catalog / Advanced Search --
E-books -- Limit by format "e-books."
To expand your search beyond the Five Colleges, try
A worldwide catalog. Use WorldCat to expand your search for books, etc. beyond the Five College area. Watch for items that are owned by only one library; such unique material is often not obtainable via interlibrary loan.
Please note that these collections provide the capability of searching the full-text
of each book, whereas the 5-College Catalog does not.
Springer E-books 1815+
More than 250,000 books published by Springer and its subsidiary imprints, covering every scientific discipline and some coverage of the social sciences & humanities. Includes access to Springer's Print on Demand Service (MyCopy)
Proquest E-Book Central
A very large collection of Ebooks, mostly scholarly, spanning the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.
National Academies Press
Over 5,000 books on a variety topics in science, technology, and other disciplines. Books are free to download.
Growing collection of books, some with complete full text online, others with only a small portion. Limited printing and downloading.
EBSCOhost eBook Collection
Full-text e-books on a broad range of reference, scholarly and professional topics. Includes books formerly in netLibrary.
Use Interlibrary Loan to request books not owned by the Five Colleges. Please allow up to two weeks for delivery.