Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

THE154: Reading Dress: Cloth & Clothing

Fall 2018, K. Smith

Primary-source Periodicals

Fashion & Women's Interests

  • Women's Magazine Archive
    Contains (each from their start to 2005): Better Homes & Gardens, Chatelaine, Cosmopolitan, Essence, Good Housekeeping, Ladies’ Home Journal, Parents; Redbook; Seventeen, Town and Country, Woman’s Day, and Women’s International Network News.
  • Good Housekeeping. 1888-1992. Sophia Smith Collection
    (for complete digital edition see Women's Magazine Archive)
  • Harper’s Bazaar. 1867-1998. Art Periodical TT500.H3
    (for complete digital edition see Harper's Bazaar Archive)
  • The Ladies’ Home Journal. 1892-1992. Sophia Smith Collection
    (for complete digital edition see Women's Magazine Archive)
  • McCall’s. 1950-2001. Sophia Smith Collection
  • Vogue. 1950-date. Sophia Smith Collection
    (for complete digital edition see Vogue Archive)

Newspapers

Reference Sources

Sears, Roebuck & Co. Catalogs

  • SC Annex 658 Se17
    Print copies of Sears Roebuck catalogs.
    Library has 1928-1967, 1978 (with many gaps). Issued twice a year.
  • Check the Five College Library Catalog for  "Everyday Fashions as Pictured in Sears Catalogs" series covering 1900s to the 1960s.

Books & Media

Five College Library Catalog

Access to the combined library holdings of Smith, Amherst, Hampshire, and Mount Holyoke Colleges, and the University of Massachusetts Amherst.

Helpful terms for "subject keyword" searching for books and media about cotton cloth and clothing are:

Dress & Fashion

  • Clothing and dress [works on the utilitarian aspects of clothing, including works on how to dress]
  • Women's clothing | Men's clothing | Children's clothing
  • [garment names]
    eg., Uniforms | Underwear | Hosiery | Hats | Footwear | Shoes 
  • Fashion--[Place]--History--[Century]
    eg., Fashion--United States--History--19th century
  • [designer or firm name]
    eg., Mizrahi, Isaac | Missoni (Firm) | Johnson, Betsey

Cotton Fabric

  • Cotton fabrics -- 
    [specific countries] | History
  • [specific types of cotton cloth]
    eg., Chintz | Denim 
  • Textile printing