Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Look for when searching within Smith's databases to find full text online, print holdings, or a link to Interlibrary Loan.
Or use the Journal Locator (below) to find a specific journal:
Use Interlibrary Loan to request articles not at Smith College. Please allow about 3-10 days for delivery.
Discover This link opens in a new window
Searches across the Five College Library Catalog, and the libraries' general and specialized journal article databases and full text sources.
Academic Search Ultimate [EBSCO] This link opens in a new window
Full text for 10,000+ scholarly publications in the social sciences, humanities, arts, and sciences from around the world.
Web of Science 1898+ This link opens in a new window
(Formerly Web of Knowledge) Indexes and abstracts science & technology journals (1899+), social science journals (1898+), and arts & humanities journals (1975+) published around the world; offers cited reference searching.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Links to scholarly books, articles and more. Results are incomplete and vary greatly by subject. Always use the libraries' research databases for a complete search of scholarly topics.
PubMed (Medline) 1950s+ This link opens in a new window
Lists over 14 million biomedical articles back to the 1950's. Check out the PubMed Tutorial
Find Biographical Resources Guide (Smith)
National Academy of Sciences: Biographical Memoirs
Search across large collections of online encyclopedias covering subjects from the humanities to the sciences and social sciences for biographies.
Blackwell Reference Online This link opens in a new window
350+ titles in the humanities and social sciences, including the Blackwell companions and handbooks. Strengths are psychology, sociology, history, literature, philosophy, and religion.
Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new window
Reference dictionaries and companions, including illustrations, web links, and searching individual titles or by subject area; from Oxford University Press.
Sage Reference This link opens in a new window
Encyclopedias in the social sciences and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.