Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Some Books on Energy
Electricity and Energy Policy in Britain, France and the United States since 1945 by
Call Number: SC Science HD9502.A2 C4656 2007
Introduction to Peak Oil by This book examines the physical andeconomic characteristics of the global oil resource to explain why peak oil hasbeen so poorly understood. The author draws on information held in oil industrydatasets that are not widely available outside of the specialist literature,and describes a number of methods that have been successfully used to predictoil peaks. In contrast to the widely-held view that 'all oil forecasts arewrong', these methods correctly predicted the current peak in globalconventional oil production. Current oil forecasts are then compared toevaluate the expected dates for regional and global oil peaks for conventionaloil, all-oils, and all-liquids. The dates of global peaks in the production ofall-oil and all-liquids appear to be reasonably soon, while the oil price thatis needed to support these global production levels continues to rise. Theworld faces serious constraints in its oil supply, which accounts for aboutone-third of total world energy use, and over 90% of the fuel used fortransportation. Readers of this book will gain a thorough understanding of thecritical, but poorly understood, phenomenon of peak oil that has already hadsignificant impacts on society in terms of high oil prices, and which willplace increasing constraints on mankind's supply of energy and economicwell-being in the coming years.
Publication Date: 2016
U. S. Energy: Overview of the Trends, Statistics, Supply and Consumption by This work emphasizes the fact that the future of human prosperity depends on how successfully we tackle the twin energy issue facing us today: securing the supply of reliable and affordable energy, and effecting a rapid transformation to a low-carbon, efficient and environmentally benign system of energy supply.
Publication Date: 2010-01-01
Energy Use Worldwide by This book examines recent energy use trends and their potential consequences for the global population. * More than 50 tables, graphs, and figures demonstrate the impact of energy use trends on global societies * An energy chronology traces technological innovations, important social events (such as the 1973 oil embargo), and energy policies that have impacted current global energy use
Call Number: SC Science TJ163.2 .M62 2007
Energy: Production, Conversion, Storage, Conservation, and Coupling by Expanding on the first edition, 'Energy: Production, Conversion, Storage, Conservation, and Coupling (2nd Ed.)' provides readers with a practical understanding of the major aspects of energy. It includes extended chapters with revised data and additional practice problems as well as a new chapter examining sustainability and sustainable energy technologies. Like the first edition, it also explores topics such as energy production, conservation of energy, energy storage and energy coupling. Written for students across a range of engineering and science disciplines, it provides a comprehensive study guide. It is particularly suitable for courses in energy technology, sustainable energy technologies and energy conversion & management, and offers an ideal reference text for students, engineers, energy researchers and industry professionals. * Presents a clear introduction to the basic properties, forms and sources of energy * Includes a range of supporting figures, tables and thermodynamic diagrams * Provides course instructors with a solution manual for practice problems
Publication Date: 2nd edition, 2016
Nuclear Politics: Energy and the State in the United States, Sweden, and France by Why did nuclear energy policies in France, Sweden, and the United States, very similar at the time of the oil crisis of 1973 and 1974, diverge so greatly in the following years? In answering this question, James Jasper challenges one of the most popular trends in political analysis: explanations relying exclusively on political and economic structures to account for public policies. Jasper proposes a new cultural and state-centered approach--one heeding not only structural factors but cultural meanings, individual biographies, and elite discretion. Surveying the period from the successful commercialization of light-water-reactor technology in the early 1960s to the present, he explains the events that occurred after 1973: France built even more reactors than it needed, the United States canceled most reactor orders, and Sweden completed planned nuclear plants but decided to phase out nuclear energy by 2010. This work is based on one hundred interviews with managers, policymakers, and activists in the three countries. In addition to providing a unique theoretical perspective, it broadens our understanding of nuclear policy by looking at three countries in depth and over a long historical span. Originally published in 1990. The Princeton Legacy Library uses the latest print-on-demand technology to again make available previously out-of-print books from the distinguished backlist of Princeton University Press. These editions preserve the original texts of these important books while presenting them in durable paperback and hardcover editions. The goal of the Princeton Legacy Library is to vastly increase access to the rich scholarly heritage found in the thousands of books published by Princeton University Press since its founding in 1905.
Publication Date: 2014
Five College Library Catalog
Search Smith and the Five Colleges for books and more.
Searches across the Five College Library Catalog, and the libraries' general and specialized journal article databases and full text sources.
WorldCat (all dates)
Extensive catalog (OCLC) of books, serials, media, web resources, and more worldwide.
Five College Library Catalog / Advanced Search -- eBooks
Limit by format "e-books."
eBooks Full text:
Please note that individual records for many of the eBooks in the databases below are in the Five College Catalog. However, these collections provide the capability of searching the full text of each book, whereas the Five College Catalog does not.
Springer E-books 2005+
More than 25,000 books published by Springer and its subsidiary imprints, covering every scientific discipline and some coverage of the social sciences & humanities. Includes access to Springer's Print on Demand Service (MyCopy)
A growing collection of eBooks in all subjects. Users must download ebrary reader.
National Academies Press
Over 5,000 books on a variety topics in science, technology, and other disciplines. Books are free to download.
Growing collection of books, some with complete full text online, others with only a small portion. Limited printing and downloading.
EBSCOhost eBook Collection
Full text eBooks on a broad range of reference, scholarly and professional topics. Includes books formerly in netLibrary.
Use Interlibrary Loan to request books not owned in the Five Colleges. Please allow about 2 weeks for delivery.