Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Some General Encyclopedias
Use these encyclopedias and other reference books to find background information on your topic.
Access Science by
Over 8500 articles, 115,000 dictionary terms, and hundreds of Research Updates in all areas of science and technology.
Full content including over 80,000 in-depth articles, detailed maps, multimedia, and research tools.
BEWARE: Can provide useful background information, but don't believe everything you read! Evaluate and verify.
Country Reference Sources
Up-to-date information and news on the countries of the world including politics, economics, business, news and data.
Europa World Plus
Covers the government and economy of 250+ countries & territories, with directory information and statistical tables. Online version of Europa World Year Book and the regional surveys.
Find encyclopedias and more
Find articles in thousands of Smith's scholarly reference sources.
Search for online and print encyclopedias:
Search tip: try simple words/phrases (e.g., buddhism; slav*; french revolution)
Some Handbooks, Specialized Encyclopedias & more
CRC Handbook of Chemistry & Physics Authoritative resource consisting of tables of data and current international recommendations on nomenclature, symbols, and units related to not only the physical sciences but also biology, geology, and environmental science.
Routledge Handbooks Online
DRM-free handbooks offering peer-reviewed research articles in the humanities, social sciences, education, psychology, engineering & built environment. Chapters can be browsed, searched, viewed & downloaded.
Oxford Bibliographies Online
A scholar-curated library of subject bibliographies in the humanities & social sciences; each entry offers a guided tour through key literature on a topic.