Skip to Main Content

ARH110: Art & Its Histories: Write & Cite

Fall 2018 - F. Ward

Citing Art Sources

Association of Art Editors Style Guide
A complement to the 16th edition of the Chicago Manual of Style, this resource provides guidance on style and citation formats on topics related to the visual arts (exhibitions, works of art, art movements, etc.).
Citing Images
Guidance on citing works of art, illustrations, content from image databases.

Formats for Bibliographies & Notes

Chicago Manual of Style. 17th ed. Notes & Bibliography (Purdue Online Writing Lab)
Format of Chicago Style research papers, in-text citations, endnotes/footnotes, and the Works Cited page.
Chicago Manual of Style. 17th ed.
Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 2010.
Chapter 14.2 explains the notes and bibliography system. Chapter 14.19 and following sections provide guidance on formatting footnotes and bibliography entries for books, articles, online resources, and other sources.
more...less...
Completely searchable online version of this important style manual, providing quick answers to style, editing, and citation format questions (for print and electronic sources).

Writing About Art

A Short Guide to Writing about Art by Sylvan Barnet
Call Number: N7476 .B37 2015
ISBN: 9780205886999
Publication Date: 2015

N7477 .T39 1981
Taylor, Joshua C. Learning to Look: A Handbook for the Visual Arts. 2nd ed. Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 1981.

Find More Writing Guides
To find more guides to writing about art use the "subject begins with" heading:
Art criticism -- Authorship