Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Look for when searching Smith's databases to find full text online, print holdings, or a link to Interlibrary Loan.
Or use the Journal Locator (below):
Academic Search Ultimate [EBSCO]
Full text and indexing covering social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language & linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, ethnic studies, and more.
Biological Abstracts [Web of Science] 1926+
Indexes articles in the life sciences and biomedical fields, including biology, biochemistry, biotechnology, botany, zoology, agriculture, etc.
The Smith College Libraries' scholarly alternative to Google! Searches millions of resources in the library catalog, journal article databases, and local primary-source collections all at once.
Links to scholarly books, articles and more. Results are incomplete and vary greatly by subject. Always use other library databases for a complete search of scholarly topics.
Health Reference Center [Gale] 1980+. MLIN
Articles on fitness, pregnancy, medicine, nutrition, diseases, public health, alcohol and drug abuse, HMOs, prescription drugs, and related topics.
PubMed (Medline) 1950s+
Provides access to over 22 million citations in the biomedical sciences. Check out the Medline Tutorial
Popular Article Sources
Academic Search Ultimate [EBSCO] From results display use Narrow Results on the left, choose Magazines to limit to popular articles. Full text for 4,500+ scholarly publications in the social sciences, humanities, arts, and sciences.
Discover The Smith College Libraries' scholarly alternative to Google! Searches millions of resources in the library catalog, journal article databases, and local primary-source collections all at once.
Expanded Academic Index [Gale] 1980+. MLIN From results display, choose Magazines at top left to limit to popular articles.
Full text scholarly journals, news magazines, and newspapers. Covers the arts and humanities, the social sciences, science and technology, across all academic disciplines.
General OneFile [Gale] 1980+. MLIN Initial search finds magazine or popular articles. From results
display, there are other options for limiting (news, videos, etc.) Peer-reviewed, full text articles, with extensive coverage of the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities, with New York Times full text, 1995+.
Nexis Uni (Coverage varies by title) Magazine search. Covers a wide range of news and popular periodicals. Also includes business magazines and legal journals.