Comments & Questions
What did you think about this library class?
Click here to provide feedback on this library session and follow up with any questions about topics covered in the class.
Bibliography
- American Indian Sovereignty and Law: An Annotated BibliographyCall Number: ref KF 8201.A1 A44 2009
- Indian Slavery, Labor, Evangelization, and Captivity in the AmericasCall Number: ref E 59 .S64 M25 1998
- Slavery and Slaving in World History: A Bibliography (2 vols.)Call Number: ref HT 861 .M544 1993
- Trail of Tears: An Annotated Bibliography of Southeastern Indian RemovalCall Number: ref E 98.R4 P48 2011
General Background
Use scholarly encyclopedias and dictionaries, such as those below, for an overview of your topic, definitions, a list of suggested readings, and (sometimes) a lead on related primary source material.
- Dictionary of American History (10 vols.)Call Number: ref E 174 .D52 2003
- Encyclopedia of American Social History (3 vols.)Call Number: ref HN 57 E58 1993
- Encyclopedia of the North American Colonies (3 vols.)Call Number: ref E 45 .E53 1993
- Encyclopedia of African-American Culture and History: The Black Experience in the Americas (6 vols.)Call Number: ref E 185 .E54 2006
- Slavery in the United States: A Social, Political, and Historical Encyclopedia (2 vols.)Call Number: ref E 441 .S635 2007
- World of a Slave: Encyclopedia of the Material Life of Slaves in the United States (2 vols.)Call Number: ref E 441 .W895 2011
- Encyclopedia of American Indian History (4 vols.)Call Number: ref E 77 .E48 2008
- Encyclopedia of the American West (4vols.)Call Number: ref F 591 .E485 1996
- Encyclopedia of US Indian Policy and Law (2 vols.)Call Number: ref KF 8205 .E49 2009
- Gale Encyclopedia of Native American Tribes (4 vols.)Call Number: ref E 77 .G15 1998
- Handbook of the American Frontier: Four Centuries of Indian-White Relationships (5 vols.)Call Number: ref E76.2 .H43 1987
- Handbook of North American IndiansCall Number: ref E 77 .H25v. 1. Introduction; v. 2. Indians in contemporary society; v. 3. Environment, origins, and population; v. 4. History of Indian-White relations; v. 5. Arctic; v. 6. Subarctic; v. 7. Northwest Coast; v. 8. California; v. 9-10. Southwest; v. 11. Great Basin; v. 12. Plateau; v. 13. Plains (2 v.); v. 14. Southeast ; v. 15. Northeast; v. 16. Technology and visual arts; v. 17. Languages; v. 18-19. Biographical dictionary; v. 20. Index
- Treaties with American Indians: An Encyclopedia of Rights, Conflicts, and Sovereignty (3 vols.)Call Number: ref KF 8203.6 .T74 2008
