Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Art Reference & Neilson Reference PA99.W44
Wellington, Jean Susorney, comp. Dictionary of bibliographic abbreviations found in the scholarship of classical studies and related disciplines. Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, 1983; rev ed. 2003.
This work brings together thousands of common abbreviations for journals, series, and standard works (but does not include ancient authors and texts).
Indexes to Articles & Other Analytics
Dyabola 1956+ This link opens in a new window
Subject catalog of the German Archaeological Institute in Rome. Covers literature about classical art and archaeology in 1,100 journals and other serials, books, and essays in collected works published throughout the world. Updated annually. For off-campus access, use the "key" (password) EsEvTGyW.
L'Année Philologique 1924+ This link opens in a new window
Covers all aspects of classical studies, including art and history in periodicals, conference proceedings, and other publications issued from 1959 to present.
Art Index Retrospective [EBSCO] 1929-1984 This link opens in a new window
Includes articles, reviews, reproductions from more than 420 periodicals. Provides international coverage for all aspects of the visual arts.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Links to scholarly books, articles and more. Results are incomplete and vary greatly by subject. Always use the libraries' research databases for a complete search of scholarly topics.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Complete digital backfiles (excepting the most current 2 to 5 years) for 400+ scholarly journals including core English-language titles in art and architectural history, archaeology, and classical studies.
Not at Smith? Getting Articles
Library subject pages provide a selection of links to major periodical indexes in art and classics.