Article Search Tips
Journal Locator - Search by journal title or citation for online and print journals.
Use Interlibrary Loan to request journal articles not owned by Smith. Articles are supplied as PDFs and usually arrive in just a few days.
For More Exhaustive Article Searches
- TOCS-INTables of contents for classics journals
- L'Année Philologique 1924+ This link opens in a new windowCovers all aspects of classical studies, including history, from the second millenium B.C. through the early middle ages (c. 500-800 A.D.).
Searching the Text of Articles
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowComplete full text backfiles (excluding latest 2-5 years) for more than 1,000 scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, sciences, and social sciences. Now includes current coverage for several hundred journal titles, plus 30,000 eBooks.
- Project Muse (Current issues) This link opens in a new windowFull text of 400+ scholarly journals in the arts and humanities, social sciences and mathematics.
Discover
Discover: Start here for books, articles & more.
- Use "Login for full access" at the top of the screen and enter your Smith login.
Discover Advanced Search includes limiting options.
Good Starting Places
Use the databases below to identify articles and essays on your topic.
- Use the buttons within the databases below to see if Smith has the article you need either in electronic or print format
- If you identify an article from another source, use the Journal Locator (see box on left)
- Academic Search Ultimate [EBSCO] This link opens in a new windowLarge, interdisciplinary articles database; remember to limit your results to academic journals.
- Atla Religion Database with AtlaSerials [EBSCO] 1949+ This link opens in a new windowCovers religious scholarship in academic journals and books.
- Humanities Abstracts [EBSCO] 1984+ This link opens in a new windowCovers the core classics journals.
- Humanities International Index [EBSCO] This link opens in a new windowCovers the core classics journals.
Art databases
- Art Index Retrospective [EBSCO] 1929-1984 This link opens in a new windowIncludes articles, reviews, reproductions from more than 420 periodicals. Provides international coverage for all aspects of the visual arts.
Ask Us - Meet with Us
