Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

ARH101: Advertisement & Visual Culture: Finding Advertising Images

Fall 2011: Laura Kalba

Digital Images of Advertisements

These national digital libraries and major digital research collections include thousands of high quality images of original materials on a wide variety of subjects including advertisements in all formats.

Historical News Collections

Full text/full image reproductions of newspapers and related emphera include all advertising as well as editorial content. Most sources listed here allow the researcher to limit her search to display or classified ads.

Illustrated Popular Magazines

This is VERY selective list of long-running, well-illustrated (and/or noteworthy) consumer magazines with many ads. Browse through the stacks near these call numbers for more examples.

      • Colliers. 1895-1957.
        Neilson Periodicals AP2.C65
      • Esquire. 1963-1988.
        Neilson Periodicals AP2 .E845
      • Fortune. 1930-date.
        Neilson Periodicals HF5001.F7
      • Good Housekeeping. 1888-1992.
        Sophia Smith Collection
      • Harper’s Bazaar. 1867-1998.
        Art Periodical TT500.H3
      • House Beautiful. 1897-2001.
        Art Periodical NA7100.H65
      • The Ladies’ Home Journal. 1892-1992.
        Sophia Smith Collection
      • Life. 1936-1972.
        Neilson Periodicals AP2.L547
      • McCall’s. 1950-2001.
        Sophia Smith Collection
      • Printing Art/Printing Salesmanship. 1903-1940
        Art Periodical Z119.P7
      • Saturday Evening Post. 1921-date.
        Neilson Periodicals AP 2.S2
      • Vogue. 1882-present. Online. (on campus only)
        1950-date. Sophia Smith Collection


      Historical Periodicals Collections