Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Reserve and Other Key Books
Use the RESERVES tab in the Five College Library Catalog to locate print reserve materials for BIO 272. Search either by Instructor (Hayssen) or Course ID (BIO 272). Some (but not all!) of the useful items for the hagfish/lamprey assignment are listed below.
Need a book that one of the other Five Colleges has, but Smith does not? Use the Request Item feature in the Five College Library Catalog. To view a tutorial, CLICK HERE.
Biology of Fishes by The Third Edition of Biology of Fishes is chiefly about fish as remarkably efficient machines for coping with the many problems that life in water entails, and looks at many such special cases. Fishes form the largest group of vertebrates, with around 20,000 known species, and they display a remarkable diversity of size, shape, internal structure and ecology to cope with environments ranging from transient puddles to the abyssal depths of the sea. Biology of Fishes does not try to cover all aspects of fish biology, but focuses on the ingenious ways in which fish have resolved the particular problems that come from living in water, especially body fluid regulation, locomotion, feeding mechanisms, and sensory systems. Enough detail is provided for the reader to be able to go on and use primary research papers. Each chapter has been thoroughly updated and a new chapter on the immune system has been added. This is an ideal textbook for students of fish biology and any of the branches of aquatic biology. Given its skilful combination of breadth and detail, the book also provides a manageable review of fish biology for experienced biologists.
Call Number: Annex Stacks - QL615 .B674 2008 and ebook
Publication Date: 2008-04-07
Biology of Lampreys by
Call Number: Neilson Stacks - QL638.1 .H37
Publication Date: 1972-01-01
Biology of Myxine by
Call Number: Annex Stacks - QL638.1 .B7 1963
Fishes by This book provides a comprehensive and current source of information on fishes-including systematics, zoogeography, behavior, and conservation of fishes-that is often needed by professionals as background for writing accurate reports. This book covers the structure and physiology, evolution and taxonomy, zoogeography, and ecology and conservation of fishes. For fisheries biologists, conservation biologists, and aquatic ecologists that need an up-to-date reference on Ichthyology.
Call Number: Neilson Stacks - QL615 .M64 1982
Publication Date: 1982-01-01
Functional Anatomy of the Vertebrates by This book introduces students to the groups of vertebrates and explores the anatomical evolution of vertebrates within the context of the functional interrelationships of organs and the changing environments to which vertebrates have adapted. The text contains all of the material taught in classic comparative anatomy courses, but integrates this material with current research in functional anatomy. This integration adds a new dimension to our understanding of structure and helps students understand the evolution of vertebrates.
Call Number: Neilson Stacks - QL805 .W35 2001
Publication Date: 2000-12-18
Functional Chordate Anatomy by
Call Number: Neilson Stacks - QL805 .W75 1991
Publication Date: 2000-01-01
Hyman's Comparative Vertebrate Anatomy by
Call Number: Neilson Stacks - QL812 .H87 1979
The Physiology of Fishes by Following the success of the bestselling third edition, this newly updated and completely revised fourth edition of The Physiology of Fishes provides comprehensive coverage of the most important aspects of the form and function of fishes. It covers the most recent advances as well as fundamental subjects such as cardiovascular physiology, intestinal transport, and gill ion uptake. Written by an international group of experts, this book contains fresh approaches, with completely new treatment of the original topics and the addition of new chapters: Muscle plasticity Membranes and Metabolism Oxygen Sensing Endocrine Disruption Pain Perception Cardiac Regeneration Neuronal Regeneration Two decades after the publication of the first edition, this book remains the only published single-volume work on fish physiology. Each chapter contains an extensive bibliography, providing readers with the best sources from the primary literature. The fourth edition provides an important reference for aquatic biologists, ichthyologists, fisheries scientists, and comparative physiologists.
Call Number: Neilson Stacks - QL639.1 .P49 2014
Publication Date: 2013-11-25
Vertebrate Life by For courses in Vertebrate Zoology, Vertebrate Biology Function, and Paleontology Widely praised for its comprehensive coverage and exceptionally clear writing style, this best-selling text explores how the anatomy, physiology, ecology, and behavior of animals interact to produce organisms that function effectively in their environments and how lineages of organisms change through evolutionary time. The Ninth Edition features dozens of new figures and photos, updated information from molecular data and evolutionary development, and expanded discussions on global climate change, extinction, and conservation.
Call Number: Neilson Stacks - QL605 .P68 2013
Publication Date: 2012-09-18
Library Catalogs and Book Resources
(Please note that the individual records for many of the e-books in the databases below are in the 5-College Catalog. However, these collections provide the capability of searching the full-text of each book, whereas the 5-College Catalog does not.)
Ebook Central [ProQuest] This link opens in a new windowA very large collection of eBooks, mostly scholarly, spanning the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. If you’re using your own laptop or desktop, install Adobe Digital Editions; for offline reading, go to the App Store or Google Play to download the Bluefire app for iOS and Android devices. Help.
eBook Collection [EBSCO] This link opens in a new windowFull text eBooks on a broad range of reference, scholarly and professional topics. Includes books formerly in netLibrary.
Google Books This link opens in a new windowIndexes the full text of a growing number of books. For some books complete text is online; for others only a small portion. No printing or downloading.
Springer E-books 1815+ This link opens in a new window250,000 eBooks published by Springer and its subsidiary imprints, covering every scientific discipline, with some coverage of the social sciences & humanities. Includes access to Springer's Print on Demand Service (MyCopy).
Use Interlibrary Loan to request books not owned in the Five Colleges. Please allow at least 2 weeks for delivery.