Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Smith College Archives biographical research resources: Digital Resources

Sources in the College Archives for biographical research

Finding digitized content online

In the finding aids

Select material is available online through the finding aids (collection guides) for each collection. To search a specific collection, use the navigation bar to the right of the page (or at the bottom, depending on your screen size). To see previously digitized material, search "digital_object" in the search bar at the top of the navigation bar on the main page of the individual collection. For all other material, email specialcollections@smith.edu for digital copies.

Smith Digital Collections

 

Online Exhibitions

Exhibits on select topics represented in Special Collections. Includes images of collection materials and contextual information.

College Archives

Image galleries, online exhibitions, and documentation of significant events in history of Smith College.

College Publications

College Books, curriculum catalogues, and other publications produced by Smith College, past and present.

Oral Histories Online

Video recordings, audio recordings, and transcripts of oral history projects related to women’s history.

Mortimer Rare Book Collection

Digital images of European medieval manuscripts (hosted by Digital Scriptorium), a selection of digitized materials pages from various printed books and manuscripts (hosted on Artstor), and collection of materials related to Virginia Woolf’s writing of “To the Lighthouse”.

Sophia Smith Collection of Women's History

Digitized images, documents, audio recordings, and film from select topics relating to women’s history.

Five College Compass: Digital Collections

Select digital images from the collections at Smith, Mount Holyoke, and Hampshire colleges.

Digitization Requests

For instructions on making digitization requests, please visit our Rights & Reproductions page