Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Hypoxia and Exercise by The 14th volume in the series will focus on cutting edge research at the interface of hypoxia and exercise. The work will cover the range from molecular mechanisms of muscle fatigue and muscle wasting to whole body exercise on the world's highest mountains. State of the art papers on training at high altitude for low altitude athletic performance will also be featured.
Publication Date: 2007-04-03
Altitude Training and Athletic Performance by For many years, the effect of altitude training on athletic performance has been a topic of interest among coaches, athletes, and sport scientists. Altitude Training and Athletic Performancecondenses the latest scientific information into a single, practical source. Randall L. Wilber, PhD--a sport physiologist at the U.S. Olympic Training Center in Colorado Springs, Colorado--is well qualified to address the physiology of altitude training, limitations to competing and training at altitude, and a host of other popular topics. Everything you need to know about altitude training and its effect on athletic performance is here. The book provides a complete historical overview of the development of altitude training from the successes and problems that athletes encountered at the 1968 Mexico City Olympics--where current interest in altitude training originated--right up to today's most effective and innovative training techniques. Altitude Training and Athletic Performancecombines a wealth of recent scientific research, as well as the latest training principles and program strategies in one of the most complete and useful texts available on the subject. The book's practical applied section describes for serious coaches and athletes the how-tos of training and competing at altitude, improving performance, and minimizing health risks and discomfort. Altitude Training and Athletic Performanceis a great resource for those seeking coverage of state-of-the-art training strategies such as the "live high-train low" training approach, the "nitrogen house," supplemental oxygen, and simulated altitude in chambers and tents. This fascinating book is a thorough review and reference for students and sport scientists. It's also a valuable guide for coaches and athletes who include altitude training in their overall training program. One of the few books devoted entirely to the subject, Altitude Training and Athletic Performanceprovides cutting-edge scientific information and practical applications pertinent to this interesting and controversial training method.
Call Number: SC Annex Stacks / QP82.2.A4 W54 2004 Request from Annex
Publication Date: 2003-10-27
Physiology of Sport and Exercise by The leading textbook for undergraduate exercise physiology courses, Physiology of Sport and Exercise, Fifth Edition With Web Study Guide, has been fully updated in both content and design. The authors, all distinguished researchers and past presidents of the American College of Sports Medicine, combine their expertise to deliver superior technical content while maintaining the accessible, reader-friendly format that has made this textbook a favorite of instructors and students alike. The fifth edition has been redesigned to enhance its visual appeal and provide students with an improved learning experience. Completely revamped photos, illustrations, and medical artwork offer a higher level of detail and clarity to better illustrate how the body performs and responds to physical activity. The text has been carefully designed to reinforce the impact of the new artwork, thereby facilitating students' comprehension of the topics covered. In addition to the improved artwork, Physiology of Sport and Exercise, Fifth Edition, features new and updated content based on the latest research in the field, including the following: - A complete rewrite of the chapters on resistance training, including updated strength training principles based on the 2009 ACSM position stand and new sections on core strength, stability training, and high-intensity interval training (HIT) - A full update and reorganization, based on instructors' feedback, of the chapters on metabolism and hormonal control to aid students' comprehension of these complex systems - New content on lactic acid as a fuel source, muscle cramps, childhood obesity, substrate utilization and endocrine response to exercise, and vascular aging - Updated coverage of central and peripheral cardiac functions, the female athlete triad, and the menstrual cycle - New research on effects of physical activity on health, including the addition of international data on the incidence of cardiovascular disease and obesity Ease of reading and understanding has been the cornerstone of this popular text. The fifth edition of Physiology of Sport and Exercise continues to offer comprehensive coverage of the complex relationship between human physiology and exercise while maintaining an engaging and student-friendly tone. Unique learning features allow students to build their knowledge as they discover the depth and breadth of this fascinating field of study. The book's accessible layout, including chapter-opening outlines and review boxes found throughout each chapter, will help students focus on the major concepts addressed. Study questions and a list of key terms at the end of the chapter increase students' opportunities for recall and self-testing. A comprehensive glossary and lists of common abbreviations and conversions provide easy reference for students as they complete labs and assignments. To facilitate a more integrated learning experience, both students and instructors can take advantage of the web-based ancillaries that accompany the fifth edition of Physiology of Sport and Exercise. The web study guide offers new learning activities that complement each chapter in the book, and study guide reminders prompt students when to access the study guide to practice, review, and develop their understanding of chapter concepts. Students can also use the guide's dynamic and interactive learning activities to expand learning beyond a typical lab situation. Key concepts are reinforced as students conduct self-made experiments and record their own physiological responses to exercise. In addition, the study guide offers access links to scientific and professional journals as well as organization and career information. One convenient web address gives instructors access to an updated instructor guide, presentation package, image bank, and test package. The pr
Call Number: SC Annex Stacks / QP301 .W6749 2012 Request from Annex
Publication Date: 2011-11-15
Discover This link opens in a new window
Searches across the Five College Library Catalog, and the libraries' general and specialized journal article databases and full text sources.
Library Catalogs and Book Resources
To expand your search beyond the Five Colleges, try
A worldwide catalog. Use WorldCat to expand your search for books, etc. beyond the Five College area. Watch for items that are owned by only one library; such unique material is often not obtainable via interlibrary loan.
Full-text E-Book Databases
Springer E-books 1815+
More than 250,000 books published by Springer and its subsidiary imprints, covering every scientific discipline and some coverage of the social sciences & humanities. Includes access to Springer's Print on Demand Service (MyCopy)
Proquest E-Book Central
A very large collection of Ebooks, mostly scholarly, spanning the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.
National Academies Press
Over 5,000 books on a variety topics in science, technology, and other disciplines. Books are free to download.
A significant selection of full-text books available from the National Library of Medicine.
Growing collection of books, some with complete full text online, others with only a small portion. Limited printing and downloading.
EBSCOhost eBook Collection
Full-text e-books on a broad range of reference, scholarly and professional topics. Includes books formerly in netLibrary.
Use Interlibrary Loan to request books not owned in the Five Colleges. Please allow about 2 weeks for delivery.