Research Guides: ARH & ARS : Art & Architecture: Images

Images of Works of Art

ARTstor This link opens in a new window
The more than two million images support research in Art, Anthropology, Archaeology, Architecture, History, Fashion & Costume, Literature, Religion, Theater, World History, and many more subjects. Using Artstor provides information about searching as well as using images in papers and presentations.

Art History Resources on the Web Extensive index of free visual arts images websites. Subjects range from Prehistoric times to the present and include a wide range of media. Quality of images and data varies.
Art Images for College Teaching
Artsy A growing database of 350,000 images of art, architecture, and design by 50,000 artists spans historical, modern, and contemporary works" drawn form" galleries, museum collections, foundations, artist estates, art fairs, and benefit auctions throughout the world.
Getty Open Content Images More than 100,00 images from Getty collections including photographs of monuments, paintings, drawings, manuscripts, photographs, antiquities, sculpture, decorative arts, artists' sketchbooks, watercolors, rare prints from the 16th through the 18th century, and 19th-century architectural drawings of cultural landmarks.
Image Sources & Rights Clearance Agencies College Art Association. A list of "sources that provide images [of works of art] for a wide range of uses, including academic and scholarly use, with a focus on images suitable for publication."
VADS: the Online Resource for the Visual Arts A portfolio of visual art collections comprising over 100,000 images, including fashion and textiles.
Smithsonian Open Access
Download, share, and reuse millions of the Smithsonian’s images from their collections without rights restrictions.

Census of Antique Works of Art and Architecture Known in the Renaissance This link opens in a new window Information on 20,000 Renaissance works of art documenting 10,000 antique monuments, with 30,000 photographs. Links Renaissance sources with the antique works they document, their locations, dates, names, and modern bibliographical citations
Index of Medieval Art This link opens in a new window Documents over 200,000 works of art in all media produced from apostolic times through the 15th century with Christian themes or for ecclesiastical settings. Entries include bibliographies, scholarly commentaries, images

Digital Scriptorium An image database of medieval and Renaissance manuscript collections in the United States with catalogue information and high-quality reproductions of manuscripts. Participating institutions include the New York Public Library, the Hougton Library (Harvard University), the Free Library (Philadelphia), and Smith College.

Five College Museum/Historic Deerfield Database
Basic descriptive information, provenance, and thumbnail images for works in the SCMA and other Five College museum collections
Historic Northampton Online Research Searchable digital collections, including photos (esp. the Howes Brothers Collection), objects, artifacts & maps; the Historic House Inventory, indexed plot map of the Old Burial Grounds & full-text of The Hampshire Gazette, 1786+ (in progress).

Census of Antique Works of Art and Architecture Known in the Renaissance This link opens in a new window Information on 20,000 Renaissance works of art documenting 10,000 antique monuments, with 30,000 photographs. Links Renaissance sources with the antique works they document, their locations, dates, names, and modern bibliographical citations
Index of Medieval Art This link opens in a new window Documents over 200,000 works of art in all media produced from apostolic times through the 15th century with Christian themes or for ecclesiastical settings. Entries include bibliographies, scholarly commentaries, images

Find Images Guide
Help finding and using images online, in print publications, and in Smith's unique special collections.