Smith College has access to a wide range of art databases - see the entire list here, and a curated list below:
ARTbibliographies Modern [ProQuest] 1974+This link opens in a new windowCovers late 19th- through 21st-century fine arts, decorative arts, design, and photography in periodicals, dissertations, exhibition catalogs, and books published throughout the world.
Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals [EBSCO] 1930s+This link opens in a new windowInternational coverage of architecture, architectural sculpture, city planning, and landscape architecture in 1,000 periodicals. Selective coverage back to the 1860s.
International Bibliography of Art [ProQuest] 2008+This link opens in a new windowIndexes literature on post-classical western art plus global art since 1945 in core journals, books, conference proceedings & exhibition catalogues. See Bibliography of the History of Art for earlier years.
Art & Architecture SourceThe largest full-text art research database covering fine, decorative and commercial art, as well as architecture and architectural design.
The Museum ScholarAn open source journal for museum students and emerging professionals.
MAI: Feminism & Visual CultureA non-hierarchical journal open to multivalent feminist expression, research & critique of visual culture.
Artnet NewsFind out what is driving the international art market with daily art world news, expert commentary, and event reviews.
Art Index Retrospective [EBSCO] 1929-1984This link opens in a new windowIncludes articles, reviews, reproductions from more than 420 periodicals. Provides international coverage for all aspects of the visual arts.
BHA: Bibliography of the History of Art 1975 to 2007This link opens in a new windowIndexes literature on post-classical western art in 2,500 periodicals, books, exhibition catalogs, and dissertations; with abstracts. See International Bibliography of Art for current coverage.
Frick Art Reference Library Periodicals Index [EBSCO]This link opens in a new windowIndexes 150 prominent art history journals published from the mid-19th to mid-20th centuries, with good coverage of American and European titles.
Index to 19th-Century American Art Periodicals [EBSCO] 1800-1900This link opens in a new windowProvides nearly complete coverage of 19th-century American art journals indexing the entire contents (articles, art notes, illustrations, stories, poems, and advertisements) of 42 titles.
Complete full-text backfiles (some excluding the latest 2 to 5 years) for more than 500 core art, art history, architecture, and archaeology journals as well as hundreds more titles in related disciplines.
Index Islamicus [EBSCO] 1906+This link opens in a new windowLists articles, books, essays, reviews on Islam, the Middle East & the Muslims worldwide. Covers art, archaeology, economics, history, law, literature, philosophy, politics, religion, sciences, etc.
Design and Applied Arts Index [ProQuest] 1973+This link opens in a new windowExtensive index to articles, reviews, & illustrations in 500 design and craft periodicals. Covers graphic, industrial, interior, fashion, textile, theater, and multimedia design, architecture, and design management worldwide.
International Medieval Bibliography 1967+This link opens in a new windowCovers all aspects of medieval studies (450 to 1500) for Europe, the Middle East and North Africa in articles, review articles, scholarly notes and more.
Ancient Art & Archaeology
Dyabola 1956+This link opens in a new windowSubject catalog of the German Archaeological Institute in Rome. Covers classical art and archaeology in journals, books, and essays published worldwide. Annual updates.
L'Année Philologique 1924+This link opens in a new windowCovers all aspects of classical studies, including art history.
Vogue Archive [ProQuest] 1892+This link opens in a new windowEntire run of the US edition, showcasing the work of the greatest designers, photographers, stylists & illustrators of the 20th & 21st centuries. Up until the 1920s, the focus was on society, not fashion.
Harper's Bazaar Archive [ProQuest] 1867+This link opens in a new windowFully searchable, including every advertisement; chronicles the work of world-renowned designers, models, photographers, stylists & illustrators. Useful for topics in women’s studies, material culture, design, fashion, marketing, advertising, etc.
