Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Photo Agencies & Other Commercial Sites
Commercial sites offer millions of contemporary and archival photos and footage for sale and allow users to search and view watermarked images.
AP Images [EBSCO] 1840+
Easily search across 750,000+ images from the 1840s to the present. Also includes graphics, maps, illustrations, and logos dating back to the 1920s.
Primary Art Image Database
More than two million images support research in a wide variety of subjects. Includes collections specific to Smith College developed to meet teaching needs in the arts, humanities, and sciences, as well as images of works from the Smith College Museum. Using Artstor
provides information about searching as well as using images in papers and presentations.
Online Museum Collection Catalogs
J. Paul Getty Museum, Collection
Limit your search to photographs and use the date range feature to further limit to works created after 1990.
International Center of Photography, eMusuem
"a searchable database of ICP's Photography Collection. Each record includes information about the photographer, title, date, medium, as well as an image, when available."
Museum of Modern Art, New York. Exhibitions & The Collection
Search for the work of specific photographers or filter by medium to browse through images of the almost 12,000 photographs in the MoMA collection
San Francisco Museum of Modern Art,
Search the collection catalog or explore using the Artscope
visual browsing tool.
Smith College Libraries research guide includes links to databases of art images, research collections of digitized photographs and other visual materials, online museum collections, commercial photography sources, and information about finding and using images.
Fine arts auction prices & indices, with detailed auction sales results.