Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Documentation of Specific Sites in Pompeii
These volumes provide descriptive, pictorial, and bibliographic information on the buildings of Pompeii.
Oversize DG70.P7 H38 (art library use only)
Hauser in Pompeji.  vols. Tubingen: E. Wasmuth, 1984- .
DG70.P7 P57 1981 (art library use only)
Pitture e Pavimenti di Pompei. 3 vols. Roma: Ministero per i beni culturali e ambientali, Istituto centrale per il catalogo e la documentazione, 1981-1986.
DG70.P7 P65 1990 (art library use only)
Pompei: Pitture e Mosaici.  vols. Rome: Istituto della Enciclopedia Italiana, 1990- .
"Pictures of the excavations at Pompeii showing every regio, insula, house, shop, villa, temple, baths, altar, fountain, gate, tomb, or tower."
Reference dictionaries and companions, including illustrations, web links for Classics such as:
- The Oxford Encyclopedia of Ancient Greece and Rome
- The Oxford Companion to Classical Civilization
- The Oxford Classical Dictionary
- Grove Encyclopedia of Classical Art and Architecture
Oxford Bibliographies Online This link opens in a new window Pompeii article
in the Classics section includes overviews of life and art in Pompeii, its historical context, archaeological guides, key primary sources, architecture, art in all media, commerce, social identity, rediscovery. OBO provides excellent coverage for a wide range of other topics related to Pompeii in bibliographies ranging from Cinema & Media Studies, Victorian Literature, Linguistics, Biblical Studies, and others
Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new window Pompeii article
provides a good overview of all aspects of the art and architecture of Pompeii as well as its rediscovery. Each section includes a bibliography of key sources. OAO also includes articles on Oplontis
, as well as an extensive section on Rome
Art Reference & Neilson Reference PA99.W44
Wellington, Jean Susorney, comp. Dictionary of bibliographic abbreviations found in the scholarship of classical studies and related disciplines. Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, 1983; rev ed. 2003.
This work brings together thousands of common abbreviations for journals, series, and standard works (but does not include ancient authors and texts).
Oxford Classical Dictionary
3rd ed. Oxford: Oxford University Press, 1999.
used in classical scholarship are given in the front matter. Provides "coverage of Greek and Roman history, literature, myth, religion, linguistics, philosophy, law, science, art and archaeology, and topics in near eastern studies and late antiquity.
Get help from Nimisha Bhat