Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
ARTstor This link opens in a new windowMore than two million images support research in a wide variety of subjects. Includes collections specific to Smith College developed to meet teaching needs in the arts, humanities, and sciences, as well as images of works from the Smith College Museum. Using Artstor provides information about searching as well as using images in papers and presentations.
Biography in Context MLIN [Gale] This link opens in a new windowBiographies from dictionaries, encyclopedias, and magazines. (Formerly Biography Resource Center.)
Marquis Who's Who This link opens in a new windowSearchable biographies from Who's Who in America, Who was Who in America, and the regional and subject Who's Who titles.
Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new windowCovers every aspect of the visual arts from prehistory to the present including art movements, media & materials, themes & subjects, specific places & monuments, and 21,000 individual artists with bibliographies and image links.
Smith College Museum of Art Resources
"SCMA [Smith College Museum of Art] Insider will act as a go-to place for sharing information on the diverse collections and many voices and visions that shape SCMA."
Collections Database - Five Colleges and Historic Deerfield Museum Consortium
"This searchable database contains information about catalogued objects from the collections of seven museums in the Pioneer Valley of Massachusetts: the Mead Art Museum at Amherst College, Hampshire College Art Gallery, Historic Deerfield, Mount Holyoke College Art Museum, Joseph Allen Skinner Museum of Mount Holyoke College, the Smith College Museum of Art, and the University Museum of Contemporary Art at the University of Massachusetts, Amherst. "
Smith College Museum of Art Publications
Image and Word by
Call Number: SC Art N346.M42 I63 2003
Publication Date: 2003-01-01
Master Drawings from the Smith College Museum of Art by From one of the finest college museums in America, this collection catalogue covers six centuries of brilliant draftsmanship, ranging from Dieric Bouts through Tiepolo and David to Seurat and de Kooning.
Call Number: SC Art NC25.N6 S6 2000Library Info
Publication Date: 2001-02-12
Masterworks of American Painting and Sculpture by Presenting 79 of the Museum's works, this volume provides a survey of American art dating from 1733 to the 1990s. Also included are essays about each artist and their work, and an illustrated checklist of examples.
Call Number: SC Art N6505.S545 1999
Publication Date: 2007-03-29
Smith College Museum of Art by With the modern era the College's greatest area of strength, this lavish volume brings together 100 masterpieces, 50 European and 50 American - all in colour, all illuminated by individual essays.
Call Number: SCArt N6750.S67 2000
Publication Date: 2000-10-30
Get help from Nimisha Bhat