Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

ARH275: Making the News, History of the Illustrated Press: Print Format Magazines

Fall 2019, L. Kalba

Print Format Historical Magazines

The titles listed on this page are highlights of Smith's print format magazine collections.

  • To find a specific title in the general collections check the Journal Locator
  • To find more titles in the Sophia Smith Collection consult the Periodicals Collection Finding Aid.
  • To browse for more periodicals titles in the general collection, use the following subject headings in the Five College Library Catalog:
    • Journalism, Pictorial. 
    • Illustrated periodicals. 
    • Illustrated periodicals >  [Name of Country]
    • Journalism, Pictorial >  {Name of Country] >  Periodicals. 
       

Selected Titles at Smith

Women's Interests

  • Cosmopolitan. 1953-92. Sophia Smith Collection
  • Frank Leslie's Lady's Magazine. 1871-1881. Sophia Smith Collection
  • Godey's Lady's Book. 1830-1896. Sophia Smith Collection
  • Good Housekeeping. 1916-1992 (incomplete). Sophia Smith Collection
  • Harper’s Bazaar. 1867-1998. Art Periodical TT500.H3
  • The Ladies’ Home Journal. 1892-1992 (incomplete). Sophia Smith Collection
  • McCall’s. 1950-2001 (incomplete). Sophia Smith Collection
  • Vogue. 1950-date (incomplete). Sophia Smith Collection

Home

  • House Beautiful. 1897-2001. Art Periodical NA7100.H65

General Interest

  • Colliers. 1895-1957. SC Annex AP2.C65
  • Fortune. 1930-date. SC Annex HF5001.F7
  • Life. 1936-1972. SC Annex AP2.L547 
  • Saturday Evening Post. 1921-date. SC Annex AP2.S
  • Scientific American. 1845-date. 

Get help from Nimisha Bhat

Visual Arts Librarian Nimisha Bhat

Contact: 

 Use Ask Us to connect
 nbhat@smith.edu
 Hillyer Art Library 121, Brown Fine Arts Center