68 full text/full image popular magazines on a wide variety of topics. Includes Bon Appetit, Consumer Reports, Discover, Ebony, Mother Jones, New Yorker, Rolling Stone, etc.
Locate Newspapers & Magazines
Journal Locator
Search by journal title to locate online and print journals in the Smith College Libraries.
Contains 19th century American newspapers (including African American), US county histories, and notable magazines (Godey's Lady's Book, Frank Leslie's Illustrated Weekly, etc.)
Fortune Magazine Archive [EBSCO] 1930-2000This link opens in a new windowSeminal business magazine, providing news & analysis of both American and, later, international business, economics, technology & industry.
Punch [Gale] 1841-1992This link opens in a new windowIconic British humor magazine, whose celebrated cartoons documented rapid technological, social, and political change in the 19th and 20th centuries.
Listener Historical Archive [Gale] 1929-1991This link opens in a new windowBBC's weekly magazine, with transcripts of many early broadcasts, plus commentary & book reviews. Contributors included E.M. Forster, George Orwell, George Bernard Shaw, Virginia Woolf, W.H. Auden, Sylvia Plath, Philip Larkin, etc.
Contains (each from their start to 2005): Better Homes & Gardens, Chatelaine, Cosmopolitan, Essence, Good Housekeeping, Ladies’ Home Journal, Parents; Redbook; Seventeen, Town and Country, Woman’s Day, and Women’s International Network News.
Harper's Bazaar Archive [ProQuest] 1867+This link opens in a new windowFully searchable, including every advertisement; chronicles the work of world-renowned designers, models, photographers, stylists & illustrators. Useful for topics in women’s studies, material culture, design, fashion, marketing, advertising, etc.
Vogue Archive [ProQuest] 1892+This link opens in a new windowEntire run of the US edition, showcasing the work of the greatest designers, photographers, stylists & illustrators of the 20th & 21st centuries. Up until the 1920s, the focus was on society, not fashion.
The ReView database within Arts: Search allows you to browse through digital facsimiles of 100 19th and early 20th century decorative and fine arts journals published in England, the US and a broad range of European countries. It includes such notable titles as The Art Journal, The Yellow Book, and The Studio.
Full text articles from the Boston Globe, Chicago Defender, Chicago Tribune, New York Times, New York Herald Tribune, Los Angeles Times, Washington Post, Atlanta Constitution, Jerusalem Post, New York Amsterdam News, and Times of India.
American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals [EBSCO] 1684-1912This link opens in a new windowDigitized American magazines & journals, detailing American history & culture. Topics include women's issues, health, science, the history of slavery, industry & professions, religion, the arts, etc.
America's Historical Newspapers 1690-1922This link opens in a new windowCover-to-cover reproductions of hundreds of historic newspapers, based on the Brigham's History and Bibliography of American Newspapers series.
Illustrated London News Historical Archive [Gale] 1842-2003This link opens in a new windowDigital archive of the world's first fully illustrated weekly newspaper, presenting a vivid picture of British & world events, including news of war, disaster, ceremonies, the arts & science.
Daily Mail Historical Archive [Gale] 1897-2016This link opens in a new windowImportant, alternative news perspective, compared to the London Times; targeted at the British lower and middle classes, with a large female readership.
This resource offers facsimile page images and searchable full text for nearly 500 British periodicals published from the 17th century through to the early 21st.
Journal Locator