Custom Search for ANT 348 Websites
General Health Websites
- WHO Africa: Disease Prevention and Control This site seems like it would be useful for a number of the topics that will be covered in this class. Topics covered range from HIV/AIDS to bacterial meningitis to social mobilization efforts to immunization to leprosy and malaria. Thought it would be a good general reference type page.
- WHO Africa: Clusters and Programmes of WHO in the African Region Website listing Health Topics covered on WHO/AFRO website. Categories include: Communicable Disease Prevention & Control, Family & Reproductive Health, Healthy Environments and Sustainable Development, Health Systems & Services Development, Prevention & Control of Non-Communicable Diseases. Under each heading are a number of subheadings pertaining to each topic. Very useful.
- The Global Fund to Fight AIDS, Tuberculosis and Malaria “The Global Fund was created to finance a dramatic turn-around in the fight against AIDS, tuberculosis and malaria.” The Global Fund supports aggressive interventions against these three diseases by funding the work of new and existing programs that promote research, prevention and treatment.
HIV/AIDS
- HIV and AIDS in sub-Saharan Africa regional overview Website with overview of AIDS in Africa, statistics, education information, personal stories, information about AIDS orphans in Africa, and specific information about AIDS in 7 Sub-Saharan countries.
- AVERT: Global Response to HIV and AIDS Section on Global Responses. Includes coverage of treatment issues, HIV/AIDS drugs, worldwide money going towards the treatment of AIDS, etc.
- PlusNews: HIV/AIDS Website listing top news stories regarding issues surrounding HIV/AIDS in Africa. Also includes Treatment Map, Country Profiles and an area for feedback and questions. Informative regarding current affairs, not necessarily good resource for information about HIV/AIDS disease.
- UNAIDS Homepage for UNAIDS, a joint United Nations program on HIV/AIDS. Site includes regional information and access to publications in PDF format such as “AIDS Epidemic Update” and “2004 Report on the Global AIDS Epidemic.” Also includes ability to search for information by topic, region/country and/or organization.
- IAVI: International AIDS Vaccine Initiative Includes information about vaccine science, challenges, current research and development issues, publications, etc.
- AVAC: International AIDS Vaccine Coalition The AIDS Vaccine Advocacy Coalition: a “community and consumer based organization…to accelerate the ethical development and global delivery of vaccines against HIV/AIDS.” The site includes a number of AVAC reports and releases and more information on the coalition itself.
- The Global Fund to Fight AIDS, Tuberculosis and Malaria “The Global Fund was created to finance a dramatic turn-around in the fight against AIDS, tuberculosis and malaria.” The Global Fund supports aggressive interventions against these three diseases by funding the work of new and existing programs that promote research, prevention and treatment.
- CNN: "Africa's Lost Generation" CNN Spacial report on affect of AIDS on children in Africa.
- Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation: HIV Efforts to stop spread of HIV/AIDS.
Penn's Resource Center
- Resources on Health & Diseases in AfricaExtensive links for specific diseases, from the University of Pennsylvania's African Studies Center.
Nutrition & Malnutrition
Fertility & Abortion
Malaria
- WHO Africa: Malaria Website on malaria on the continent of Africa. Includes regional/country statistics and profiles, information on the Roll Back Malaria partnership and links to related sites.
- WHO: Malaria World Health Organization (WHO) website on malaria. The page “provides links to descriptions of activities, reports, news and events, as well as contacts and cooperating partners in the various WHO programmes and offices working on this topic.” Also provides a fact sheet on malaria and links to sites relating to vaccine research.
- Malaria Foundation International The Malaria Foundation International (MFI): The MFI works “to support awareness,ed education, training, research and leadership programs for the immediate and long term development and application of tools to combat malaria.” The website offers scientific information about the disease, statistical information, a FAQ section, links to other sites and to malaria literature and information about global malaria initiatives.
- The Search for a Malaria Vaccine; Gina Kolata Science > New Series, Vol. 226, No. 4675 (Nov., 1984), pp. 679-682