Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

AMS230: Narratives of Internment: Primary Sources

Fall 2015, F. Cheung

The Treasure Trove for AMS230

Archives/Manuscripts

If you would like to work with primary source materials in the original, consider using local collections.  To search for archival material within the Five Colleges, use Asteria; to search for archival materials beyond the Five Colleges, use Archive Finder.

Materials relating to the history of the college are housed in the College Archives. Letters, diaries, and other primary sources documenting student life at Smith are listed on the Research Guides page; the archives also houses institutional records for the college.

Consult with the collection curators for help.

Government Documents

The Online Catalog & Primary Sources

Five College Library Catalog

As you search in the online catalog, watch for the words "personal narratives," "diaries," "interviews," "correspondence," "pamphlets," and "sources" as part of the subject headings; these may point you to published primary sources in the library collections.

You can also search for these words, for example, japanese americans and relocation and (sources or diaries or correspondence or pamphlets or interviews or narratives)

Other clues may be buried in the title, authorship, date of publication, etc.

Some examples:

  • Japanese American World War II Evacuation Oral History Project (pt. 1. Internees; pt. 2. Administrators; pt. 3. Analysts; pt. 4. Resisters pt. 5. Guards and Townspeople - Oversize D 769.8. A6 J363 1991
  • Nisei Memories: My Parents Talk about the War Years - D769.8.A6 T36 2006
  • NCRR & Visual Communications present Commission on Wartime Relocation and Internment of Civilians - Video D 769.8 .A6 S7 1998
  • Public Papers and Addresses of Franklin D. Roosevelt - 973.917 R677p

Locating Magazine Articles from the 1940's

Digital Newspapers

Other Possibilities

Use the Find Primary Sources page for a comprehensive listing of the library's online primary source collections.

Use the Find Images page for help locating additional images.

Ask Us - Meet with Us

Smith College Teaching, Learning & Research Librarians

Contact: Teaching, Learning & Research Librarians

 Use Ask Us to connect
 libraryhelp@smith.edu