Zotero

Zotero helps researchers gather, manage, store, and generate citations and bibliographies. It is a free tool.

Save Citations

Zotero Citation - Click the Connecter button in the upper right hand of your browser screen and watch the pop-up appear in the lower right hand corner. When you find a source you would like to save the citation for, click on the connector button. In the lower right corner you will see a pop-up indicating that Zotero is saving your citation.

If you want to save the citation for a hard copy item, look up the item in the catalog or database first. If the item exists in the database/catalog/online you can grab the citation using the Connector.

If you can't find the item online, you can create a new citation manually. First, click on the green plus sign icon and choose the type of source you want to create a citation for from the drop-down menu.

Click on green button with plus sign at top of Zotero window, see drop-down list (book, book section, document, journal article, etc.) and select type of citation you wish to create

Next, fill in the fields in the new citation you have just created.

Highlighting and filling in the fields of citations created from scratch

To edit existing citations, just highlight the individual reference you wish to edit, select the field wish to add to edit, and type in your changes.

Select citation in middle pane, click on field to edit it.

Loading

Create a Bibliography

It's easy to create a bibliography from your Zotero library.

Select the references or collections you want to include. Hold the control key (or command key on a Mac) and click to select multiple items. Right-click one of the selected items and choose "Create bibliography from items."

Cited items are selected, pop-up box appears, user selects "create bibliography"

Select the bibliographic style you want, and then select the output method. If you output as an RTF, it will save the bibliography as a document on your machine (it will ask you where you want to save it). If you select "Copy to clipboard" you can then paste to into a document you may already have opn and are working on. 

List of citation styles, user selects the one s/he wants to use and then selects how to output (print, copy to clipboard or html)

To create an annotated bibliography visit the Eastern Michigan University Library Guide for instructions. 

Loading

Add Citation Styles to Zotero

When you install Zotero, it automatically includes only a few of the most commonly used styles out of thousands of formatting styles. If Zotero does not have the formatting style you need, just visit Zotero's Style Repository, on your desired style, and save it to your Zotero style library.

List of citation styles for the Zotero citation styles repository shown.


The style will be uploaded to Zotero and available for you to use.


Po-up asking if user wants to install the style she has chosen.

Get Help

Smith Libraries Teaching, Learning & Research Librarians
Teaching, Learning & Research Librarians

 
Libraries Service Desk