Skip to main content

Zotero: Save Citations

Zotero helps researchers gather, manage, store, and generate citations and bibliographies. It is a free tool.

Saving citations

With one click, Zotero provides the ability to save references from most library catalogs (including Smith College's) and databases, and even some regular web pages. If Zotero detects that you're looking at a book or article on a catalog, database, or a site like Amazon.com, you'll see a book or page icon appear in the address bar of your browser. Just click the icon and Zotero will automatically save the citation.

 

 

The Zotero Editor

To edit individual citations, first open the Zotero editor by clicking the Zotero icon ("Z") in the toolbar at the top of the page.

 

 

Then highlight the individual reference to edit it.

Zotero Cover Image

 

 

Attaching files

It's easy to attach files (like PDFs) to items in your Zotero library.  Just drag the file into your Zotero pane.  Dropping a file onto a collection, or in between library items, will copy it into your library as a standalone item.  Dropping it onto an existing item will attach it to that item.  This is the easiest way to attach a copy of an article to its entry in your library.

Each item also has an Attachments tab in the right column.  You can attach files by clicking the Attachments tab and then the Add button.

 

 

 

Organizing your collections

Click the Zotero button at the bottom of your browser to open your library. At the top left is a folder button with a green plus sign. Click this to create a new "collection."

Create collections to organize your references. Collections are like file folders on your computer, but a reference can be in more than one collection at a time.