Skip to main content
got ?'s chat | text | email | phone Smith College LibrariesResearchHelpLibrary ServicesAbout the LibrariesLibraries & Collections

Web Lab: What's New?

Technology Sandbox for Smith students: tools and tips for research & learning

Signing off

The Smith College Libraries Web Lab: the Technology Sandbox is taking a break. 

For all the latest news, including new features for online services and resources, visit the SCL News & Events page:

Follow us on Facebook

NAXOS introduces new media player for mobiles

Naxos Music Library With the introduction of the new Naxos Media Player, you can now stream Naxos Music Library on your tablet, iPhone or Android phone, with a Smith login/password, through the web browser, WITHOUT apps!

Access Naxos off the streaming media page, found at:
Naxos features Classical, Jazz, World, Classic Rock, and Nostalgia music recordings, and includes the catalogues or selected recordings of over 640 labels such as ARC, Berlin Classics, BIS, Capriccio, Chandos, EMI Classics, Erato, Finlandia, Hänssler Classic, Harmonia Mundi, Hungaroton, Naïve, Naxos, Nonesuch, Nimbus, Ondine, RCA Records, Sony Classical, Teldec, Virgin Classics and Warner Classics
An amazing resource!
For more information:

April - May, 2013: Tell us what you think!

Have you tried Zotero to manage your citations for research? We'd love to hear from you.

Libraries and Educational Technology Services staff members are evaluating Zotero as an alternative to RefWorks for the Smith community.

Your comments are greatly appreciated.   Smith College Zotero Survey

This survey will take just a few moments of your time.  Responses will be kept confidential.


Neilson Reference
(413) 585-2960

New Search Tool - Discover!

Discover: Start here for books, articles & more



New! Discover: Start here for books, articles & more


Discover's single search box combines the Five College Library Catalog and many of Smith's research databases.  Try it as a starting point - Discover may be the only search you need to find a few good resources.

Please let us know what you think of Discover by taking this brief survey.


Learn More about the new Discover search

Introducing Zotero

Zotero logo


Zotero is a free research plug-in for Firefox that helps you gather, manage, and cite your research sources. Zotero is an open-source alternative to other citation management tools such as Refworks and EndNote.

Learn more about Zotero

Latest Tools: Naxos Android App

Naxos iPhone app icon

Naxos on the Go! Now for Android!

Naxos Music Library has launched a free Android app in addition to their iPhone app. Listen to playlists created by you or your professors on your iPhone, iPod Touch, iPad, or Android device!

Learn more about the Naxos apps

Latest Tools: ScienceDirect iPhone app

ScienceDirect iPhone App

The free ScienceDirect iPhone app lets you search for and download peer-reviewed journal articles and book chapters from your iPhone, iPod Touch, or iPad.

To get started, create a ScienceDirect username/password and then download the app from the iTunes store. A User Guide is available with more information.

Tools you can use

top tools graphictwitter graphicGoogle Docs graphicdiigo graphic

The "Top 100 Tools for Learning 2011" list includes a comparison of rankings over the last four years.



Links to Great Stuff graphic

Visit the Web Lab's "Links"  page and tell us about your favorites.

top 100 chart
Follow the links below for more Web 2.0 tools for students.


Send-to-Mobile in Music Online

Music Online Logo

Alexander Street Press’s Music Online now offers send-to-mobile functionality. You can send an audio track, video track, album, or playlist from their streaming collections to your mobile device to listen to later.

Learn more about Send-to-Mobile in Music Online

E-reader Apps

Stanza app on iPod

Have you checked out the Libraries’ Kindles yet? If you like the flexibility of having a portable bookshelf, but don’t want another electronic device, you can download one of the many e-reader apps for your PC, Mac, smartphone, iPod, or iPad.

The New York Times recently did a review of several apps, Apps That Turn Pages, and Save Money, and both Amazon and Barnes & Noble offer free versions of their e-readers for a range of devices.

Other reviews:

5 Fantastic Free iPhone E-book Reader Apps (Mashable)

WorldCat Local

WorldCat graphic logo WorldCat Local

WorldCat Local is a great place to start your research! Search libraries worldwide and a small collection of journal articles, including JSTOR and Science Direct (2006+). Please let us know what you think of this resource by taking this brief survey.

Search Smith Libraries and beyond for books, CDs, more


Learn More about WorldCat Local

Music Online Quick Search

You can now search Alexander Street's Music Online audio, video, scores, and full text music reference collections from your Web browser's toolbar using their Search Engine Add-On. After installing the add-on, you will be able to type search terms directly into the toolbar, as seen below:

Music Online Quick Search


Installing the add-ons is simple and takes very little time.

Click here for installation instructions.

New DVD Alerts

Find out about New DVDs using Five College Library Catalog Alerts

sample DVD alert using Google Reader

Use the library catalog “alerts” feature to find out about new DVDs and videos – at Smith or in any of the Five College libraries – through regular email or RSS updates.

Learn more about Catalog Alerts.


Use EBSCO Alerts to keep your research up-to-date


You can use EBSCO RSS alerts (or email alerts) to be notified when new articles become available for previously run searches or new issues of journals are out.

Learn more about EBSCO RSS Alerts

RSS Feeds

RSS Icon

Tired of checking your favorite web sites daily?

Learn how you can use RSS feeds to automatically get the latest updates from web sites, blogs, and library databases.

Learn more about RSS

Social Bookmarking - It's Delicious!

Delicious graphic
With Delicious you can get to your favorite websites and documents from any computer - at home, in the libraries, from your room, or wherever you happen to be.

All your bookmarks are kept in one place, stored online, for you to tag, save, and organize. You'll be able to find good stuff on the web, keep track of it all, share links with people you add to your network, and create a tag cloud to post on a blog or website.

Learn more about Delicious


RefWorks logo

RefWorks is an online tool that lets you import references from most of the databases to which the Libraries subscribe.

Learn more about RefWorks

Sign up for an individual account

Register for an information session

Teaching, Learning & Research Staff

Neilson Reference
Chat requires JavaScript.
(413) 585-2960
Neilson Library Reference Desk

All Service Desk Hours / Contacts
Website / Blog Page