Before you BUY a download,

try these FREE options:

_____________

Check the Five College Catalog.

ASK A LIBRARIAN to help you with your search.

Stream it via Smith-sponsored  subscription databases.

Check out YouTube, Google Videos and the Internet Archive.

Streaming databases are listed on the Performing Arts Media subject page.

For Smith, recordings in the streaming audio databases are NOT cataloged/identified in the Five College Library catalog.

Multi-media held at the Smith College Libraries are identified by searching in the Five College Catalog and in the individual databases:

**Important primary audio sources for Blues, Jazz, and African American music and spoken word.

• **Five College Library Catalog
• **DRAM (streaming audio)
• **Music Online Advanced Search * (Alexander St streaming music/video and full-text databases; includes American Song, Jazz Music Library and Smithsonian Folkways)
• Naxos Music Library (streaming audio)
• Naxos Spoken Word Library (streaming audio)
• Theatre in Video
• BBC Television Shakespeare)

Please note: There are Josten LPs that pre-date 1974 that are NOT listed in the Five College Library Catalog.

"The blues...made me look at the word differently. It gave the people in the rooming house where I lived, and also my mother, a history I didn't know they had. It was the beginning of my consciousness that I was the carrier of some very valuable antecedents." --From the Twentieth-Century [Pittsburgh] Cycle series introduction by John Lahr found in Gem of the Ocean.