This is the "Research Essentials" page of the "SSW Doctoral Students" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Need Help?  Ask a Librarian! Smith College Libraries Research Help Library Services About the Libraries Libraries & Collections

SSW Doctoral Students   Tags: dissertation, doctoral, everett, phd, research, social_work, ssw, ssw 670, summer14  

Summer 2014, SSW Dissertation Literature Review Strategies
Last Updated: Aug 8, 2014 URL: http://libguides.smith.edu/sswphd Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Research Essentials Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Discover

Discover: Start here for books, articles & more

 
Many EBSCO databases, such as Academic Search Premier and Historical Abstracts, are included in Discover, as is JSTOR.
 

Library Catalogs and Requesting Items

Look for books in the Five College Library Catalog

 Use the Request Item button in the catalog to request books from the other Five Colleges.

No luck? Try the same search in WorldCat.

Use Interlibrary Loan to request books not in the Five Colleges.

 

Find Overviews & Books

Social Work Speaks book cover  Encyclopedia of Social Problems cover   Encyclopedia of Social Work
Browse topics to find an overview & some academic references:

Use these sources to find background information about your topic and bibliographies to help you get started with your research.

Encyclopedia of Social Work (4 vols.)
Call Number: Ref HV35 .S6

Five College Catalog
Look for and request books in local libraries

WorldCat
Look for books worldwide and request them through Interlibrary loan

TLR: Libraries Teaching, Learning & Research Group

Profile Image
Neilson Reference Desk Staff
Chat requires JavaScript.
Contact Info
(413) 585-2960
Send Email

Reference Librarian

Profile Image
Kathy Layer
Contact Info
klayer@smith.edu
x2967
Send Email
 
footer Smith College Web Smith College Directory Smith College Moodle Course Management System Smith College email Smith College BannerWeb system Smith College Libraries on Facebook Smith College Libraries Mobile Website Smith College Libraries Suggestion Box
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip