This is the "Research Essentials" page of the "SSW380/381, 382/383, 384/385: Research Methods" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Need Help?  Ask a Librarian! Smith College Libraries Research Help Library Services About the Libraries Libraries & Collections

SSW380/381, 382/383, 384/385: Research Methods   Tags: dadlani, hull, kersten, mccarthy, newkirk, research methods, social work, ssw, ssw 380, summer14, thesis, willett, yoon  

Summer 2014, SSW Literature Review Strategies
Last Updated: Dec 17, 2014 URL: http://libguides.smith.edu/ssw380 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Research Essentials Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Moodle: 380/381, 382/383, 384/385 Sections

Click here to login to the main Moodle page at Smith.

380 Dadlani

380 Kersten

380 Willett

380 Yoon

382  McCarthy

382  Newkirk

382  Hull

 

 

Discover

Discover: Start here for books, articles & more

 
Many EBSCO databases, such as Academic Search Premier and Historical Abstracts, are included in Discover, as is JSTOR.

Discover Advanced Search includes limiting options.

What is Discover?

 

Feedback

What did you think about this library class?

Let us know your thoughts. Please fill out the brief Feedback Form.

 

Find Overviews & Books

Social Work Speaks book cover  Encyclopedia of Social Problems cover   Encyclopedia of Social Work
Browse topics to find an overview & some academic references:

Use these sources to find background information about your topic and bibliographies to help you get started with your research.

Encyclopedia of Social Work (4 vols.)
Call Number: Ref HV35 .S6

Five College Catalog
Look for and request books in local libraries

WorldCat
Look for books worldwide and request them through Interlibrary loan

Locate Articles

  • PsycINFO [EBSCO] 1887+
    Worldwide coverage of 1300+ journals, books and dissertations in behavioral sciences, psychology, mental health, medicine, etc.
  • Social Work Abstracts [EBSCO] 1965+
    Produced by the National Association of Social Workers; Provides indexing and abstracts of over 850 social work and human services journals dealing with all aspects of the social work field, including theory and practice, areas of service and social issues and problems.
  • PEP-Web: Psychoanalytic Electronic Publishing [PEP Interface] (excludes current and previous 3 years)
    Indexes articles from major psychoanalytic journals with full-text coverage excluding the current and previous 3 years. Includes Freud's Complete Psychological Works, his correspondence with five major psychoanalysts, and 23 classic psychoanalytic books.
  • LexisNexis Academic (Coverage varies by title)
    Coverage varies by title; Includes a wide range of news, business, legal, and reference information. Includes federal and state laws and cases.
  • Google Scholar
    Search for scholarly literature across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites
  • Social Work Subject Guide
    [Smith College Libraries]
    Find more suggested article databases and other resources. NOTE: The Special Topics tab covers resources on Evidence-Based Practice.

Search for Theses from Smith and Elsewhere

TLR: Libraries Teaching, Learning & Research Group

Profile Image
Neilson Reference Desk Staff
Chat requires JavaScript.
Contact Info
(413) 585-2960
Send Email

Reference Librarian

Profile Image
Kathy Layer
Contact Info
klayer@smith.edu
x2967
Send Email
 

Find Journals by Title

journal title

Enter the journal title,
not the article title

year (optional)

Advanced Search
(more search options)

 

Interlibrary Loan

Use Interlibrary Loan to request books not owned in the Five Colleges and journal articles not owned by Smith.

footer Smith College Web Smith College Directory Smith College Moodle Course Management System Smith College email Smith College BannerWeb system Smith College Libraries on Facebook Smith College Libraries Mobile Website Smith College Libraries Suggestion Box
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip