Home

      
     Search:
   

 
What's a Lit Review?

Literature Review
(SSW160 assignment details)

Online Writing Lab at Purdue logoPurdue > Social Work Literature Review Guidelines

 

Sample Lit Reviews

Purdue > Sample APA Papers: Literature Review
(annotated pdf)

SC Links graphic Yellowlees, P., & Marks, S. (2007, May). Problematic Internet use or Internet addiction?. Computers in Human Behavior, 23(3), 1447-1453.

SC Links graphic Davis, L. (1987, July). Battered Women: The Transformation of a Social Problem. Social Work, 32(4), 306-311.

[These examples illustrate formats; they are not reviews of policy literature.]


 

 
Searching for Journals

Find journals listed in background sources - online or in paper.

 

journal title

Enter the journal title,
not the article title

year (optional)

Advanced Search
(more search options)


 
 

 
Select a Topic & Begin

Find background information and a few academic references for your lit review.

  • The Dynamics of Social Welfare Policy - Joel Blau with Mimi Abramovitz
    Call Number: RESERVE HV 95 .B595 2007
    See Part I, Chapter 2:
    "Definitions & Functions of Social Welfare Policy"
    (includes list of federal policy areas and programs)
    What is...? (p. 19-29)
    Overview of Programs (p. 39-54)

  • Social Work Speaks - NASW
    Call Number: ref HV 88 N118 2003/2006
    Policy Statements, 2003-2006 [-2009 on order]

    NOTE: Abstracts are available online.
    See the print source for complete information.

  • Encyclopedia of Social Work (4 vols.)
    Call Number: ref HV 35 S6 2008

  • Comprehensive Handbook of Social Work and Social Welfare - Karen M. Sowers, Ira C. Colby (Editors)
    Call Number: ref HV 40 .C635 2008
    vol. 4, Social Policy & Policy Practice
    [see table of contents]


 

 
Moodle Links - SSW160 Sections

Click here to login to the main Moodle page at Smith.

1: F. Newdom 3: T. Ross-Perkins 5: D. Reyome
2: F. Newdom 4: T. Ross-Perkins 6: D. Reyome

 
 

 
More

Question Mark graphicUse Ask a Librarian or call the Reference Desk at (413) 585-2960.

Look for specialized encyclopedias, for example:

  • Encyclopedia of Homelessness
    Call Number: Ref HV 4493 .E53 2004
    ...has entries on "Legislation, Programs, and Policies" & "Issues on Serving the Homeless," as well as history of legislation.

  • Encyclopedia of Domestic Violence
    Call Number: ref HV 6626 .E534 2007
    ..has a thematic list of entries, including "Domestic Violence & the Law" and others, with a section on understudied areas.


 
Print This Page
Print Entire Guide

Home | Research | Library Services | General Information | Smith Libraries & Collections | Need Help?


Smith College Home Page

Smith College Libraries, Northampton, MA 01063 | (413) 585-2902
Copyright © 2008 Smith College Libraries. All Rights Reserved.

Last Updated: May 5, 2008

Description

  Loading content... please wait