Background Information
The Libraries' Encyclopedias research page includes additional sources for articles on world theater, film, history and more.
- Encyclopedia of Contemporary Spanish Culture
Call Number: ref DP 2335 E63 1999
Use ebrary reader to access online. - Historical Dictionary of Modern Spain, 1700-1988
Call Number: ref DP 192 .H57 1990 - Mexico: An Encyclopedia of Contemporary Culture and History
Call Number: ref F 1234 .C67 2004
Limited preview available with search, in Google Books. - Milenios de México (3 volumes)
Call Number: ref F 1204 M955 1999 - Encyclopedia of Latin American History and Culture [Gale Virtual Reference Library]
Extensive reference source includes articles on history, culture, politics, biographical information. 2008 edition. - Encyclopedia of Contemporary Latin American and Caribbean Culture (3 vols.)
Call Number: ref F 1406 E515 2000 - The Oxford Encyclopedia of Mesoamerican Cultures
(2006) Oxford Reference Online, includes SC Links to references. - LANIC: Indigenous Peoples
Latin American Network Information Center - links by country, region, group, etc. See also: LANIC News links - Oxford Art Online
search for Mexico or Peru to find longer articles broken down by art medium, etc. - Indigenous Peoples and Environmental Issues: An Encyclopedia
Call Number: ref GF 50 J65 2003
Feedback
What did you think about this libary class?
Let us know your thoughts. Please fill out the brief Feedback Form.
Moodle - SPN 220
Click here to login to the main Moodle page at Smith.
Or connect directly to your course site: M. Joffroy, SPN 220
Reference Sources - Dictionaries
For more links to language and news sources on the web, see the Libraries' Spanish & Portuguese subject page (under Research)
- Biography Resource Center (information and references on well-known authors and political figures)
- Oxford Language Dictionaries Online (English-Spanish or Spanish-English)
Find Books
To limit to Spanish lanaguage sources, use the Advanced search screen. A keyword search can work to find a few sources. Then to find more, click on the subject headings you see. These are examples of "Subject begins with" searches:
Africans - Europe - Ethnic identity
Europe - Emigration and immigration - 21st century
Europe - Ethnic Relations
Arabs - Spain
Foreign workers, Mexican - United States - History
Economic assistance, American - Colombia
Drug control - Colombia
Cocaine industry - Latin America
Military assistance, American - Colombia
Indigenous peoples - Civil rights
Maya women -
Women's rights - Mexico
Theater - Mexico
Community organization
Caribbean Community
Haiti - Social conditions
Dominican Republic - Economic conditions
Migrant labor - Caribbean area
Mexico - Politics and government - 1988-
Mexico - Foreign economic relations
Ejército Zapatista de Liberación Nacional (Mexico)
Allende Gossens, Salvador, 1908 - 1973
Pinochet Ugarte, Augusto
Spain - Politics and government - 1931-1939
Environmentalism - Europe
Environmental justice - Latin America
Environmental policy - Spain
Environmental protection - Latin America
WorldCat
Reference Librarian |
Sika BergerDescription
Loading content... please wait







Loading content... please wait