Research Guides: PPL : Public Policy: Websites

Primary Websites

Congress.gov Official website for U.S. federal legislative information (formerly Thomas.gov)
more...less...
Free service from the Library of Congress allows search by topic or bill number, browse by sponsor, with extensive legislative information.
Congressional Budget Office
CRS Reports: Congressional Research Service (UNT) University of North Texas hosts a searchable online database of many CRS reports.
more...less...
The University of North Texas website aims to provide integrated, searchable access to many of the full text CRS reports that have been available at a variety of different Web sites since 1990
FDSys: Federal Digital System [replaces GPO Access] Databases include the text of bills, Congressional Record, Federal Register, GAO Reports, Weekly Compilation of Presidential Documents, and more.
GAO Reports (blue books) Acrobat software [PDF files] available in libraries.
Legal Information Institute (LII at Cornell) (Cornell Law School)
State Legislatures, State Laws & State Regulations

iPOLL (Roper Center for Public Opinion Research) 1935+ This link opens in a new window Comprehensive database from major U.S. polling organizations, including questions asked & responses provided.
ProQuest Congressional 1789+ This link opens in a new window Congressional Indexes, Publications, Testimony, Bills, Laws, and more. Includes Congressional Hearings Digital Collection, Part A: 1824-1979 and Part B: 1980-2003.

FindLaw: Law & Economics Page
Government, Politics & Law guides, University of Michigan University of Michigan Documents Center research guides
Guide to Government Information, UMass Amherst Library Extensive guide to U.S. government resources and websites, including segments for the Census, statistics, plus patents & trademarks
Project Vote Smart - American Government, Elections, Candidates and Voting Nonpartisan organization presents biographical and issue-related information on candidates for political office in the US.
State and Local Government on the Net
U.S. Census Bureau
USA.gov Search federal and state websites.